August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Parameters Have Been Altered

by wbobeirne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** Works best in Chrome **

Howdy LD folks!

Proud to have made it in this year. I wasn't able to do as much as I'd hoped, but I had a hell of a lot of fun. This is my first year using Javascript and Canvas (With help from CreateJs) to make my game, and I feel I've learned a lot. And isn't that what's most important?

The AI sucks, the weapons are bland, and the sound effects are last minute. Hope you enjoy!

(P.S., there are a couple of easter eggs. Can you find them? No peaking at the source!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#521Graphics2.94
#559Mood2.72
#573Humor2.20
#610Overall3.00
#640Audio2.39
#647Fun2.81
#867Innovation2.53
#912Theme2.72

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Nice game, changing weapons every ten seconds keeps you on your toes.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

Interesting game, even more interesting facts

TheHermit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

I enjoyed this a lot. Good to see more canvas games. I did have one technical problem though - the in-game cursor was offset compared to where my mouse was, so I could only shoot to the right. This was fixed by me resizing the window to the canvas. I was using Chrome under linux.

Zknet says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Fun game. I enjoyed the trivia facts after dying.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08am

"the in-game cursor was offset compared to where my mouse was, so I could only shoot to the right." <-- ditto, please fix this :)

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27pm

whoooa it's hard ! trivia is great.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Hah, I love the trivia at the end of each game! It's a really nice touch.

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Hey guys, sorry about ignoring the issue some browsers are having with the crosshair. I promise to take a look at it this weekend, I've just been terribly busy! I'll let yo know when I've got it licked.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Holy crap how did you manage to put so many trivia facts in? Good job! Oh, and the game was pretty fun too, if a touch too hard.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Good effort for a new technology used! It is too difficult at first though, four charging columns seems a bit much from the get go. Nice touch on the graphics and trivia!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:40pm

haha, the fun facts for the seconds survived and amount killed is a very nice touch.

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I wasn't able to aim in Firefox. I see in the comments now that this was reported already.

Trivia was really cool. I also liked the shadow graphics and the different weapon types.

manuq says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice! I die all the time. Then I realized that it was the crosshair offset that hitted others too. Another CreateJS user here, for my own game :)

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:23am

Hey Guys,

Sorry it took me this long, but I've fixed the major bugs! Unfortunately, I can't fix everything, so I just highly suggest you run the game in Chrome. It runs like shit in FF (On my system) and only runs marginally better in IE. I'm really not sure what it is.

Sorry for the inconvenience!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Good design, graphics and sound. But the difficulty is too high, it should start easy and slowly turning more difficult.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Would have enjoyed much more without the alert box popping up in the middle of each game. I can undertand having a note at the beginning saying which is the best brower but to ruin a game in the middle of it is crazy.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I've played it in chrome now. Definitely better without the alert box! I like the simple but clean graphics. It runs fine in firefox so you wanna get rid of the pop up.

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Hm, the alert box is only supposed to come up if you have a full 60 frames in a row of sub-15 FPS. I'll cut it out if it isn't working well though.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

I really liked how you did the facts at the end. The popup would come up during the game saying to play the game in chrome when I was playing it in chrome. After I clicked ok for it the game skipped ahead instead of freezing which was annoying. Fun concept and I liked the background.

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Sorry about that, I'd made the change but hadn't pushed it to the site! No more alert message.

Ossi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Really cool game! It got really tough when I ended up with the shotgun and didn't completely clear the stage I was already on. The enemies are relentless! Really like the look of the game too, with the grid in the background moving as you do really gives the playing field some depth. Added a bit of fun facts at the end based on how long you survived is a good touch. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]