August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

WorkItUp

by RawBits - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The aim of the game is to get the guy to the top floor. For this you need to use the blocks to build a path up. Time is a concern as you have only 10 seconds to do it - you can get extra 10 seconds for getting 3 or more of the same color in one line. Don't fall on the spikes!

Good luck! Have fun! :)

* Has some bugs in the collision detection. Also the collision with the falling blocks are not done yet - so don't jump on them and there is no fear from squashing by them.

Controls:
---------

Menu:
-----

- Mouse clicks or UP/DOWN arrows + ENTER to select menu item.

InGame:
-------

Blocks:

- LEFT/RIGHT arrows to move
- DOWN arrow for faster descending
- UP arrow scroll the colors
- CTRL tilt the block

Guy:

- A/D to move
- SPACE to jump

Other:

- BACKSPACE to give up

Help:
-----

Mouse click or BACKSPACE drop you back to the menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Innovation3.39
#550Humor2.24
#569Overall3.04
#677Fun2.78
#900Mood2.25
#900Graphics2.30
#983Theme2.61
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38pm

found a fun exploit. if you just hold `down` during gameplay, the blocks will stack wierdly, and the time will just pile up :) the general premise/idea is really clever, i would love to see this developed further.

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46pm

One of the coolest of played so far :D, you just need to make it so the blocks crush the character :)

RawBits says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

stewthepoothank: you! I know about it but there are worse things than that so I didn't spent any time to think about that. later...

lurkingshadow: thanks! :) I want to do that actually but I spent too much time on RL things so collision with the falling blocks didn't made it in time. (I am seeing clearer now and will rewrite some parts so the whole collision system will be easier to implement.)

This game will be my #1GAM entry as well so there will be improvements! ;)

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23am

This is a really neat idea. I could see this being a really fun 2-player coop game. I think 10 seconds might be too hard, at least at the beginning, but that was the theme so it's understandable!

RawBits says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28am

KevinWorkman: If you start with gathering time at the begining then you should not have any problem later. The idea for making it hard was to put random walls in the playfield. Also it's really missing the collision with the falling blocks.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

I like the idea of mixing building blocks and jump'n'run. But it's way to fast (for me).

RawBits says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Urfoex: Sounds like you are out of practice, mate. :P :) Thaks for giving it a shot!

isharacomix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:08pm

This was interesting - trying to control the guy and the block at the same time was a bit like trying to pat your head and rub your tummy at the same time: it takes some crazy coordination.

One thing that might help would be to make it so the character is *always* jumping, that way you just have to move him back and forth. It would also go well with the theme "work it up" since he's working up a sweat whether you're moving or not. :D

RawBits says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:53pm

isharacomix: Always jumping? It can work but may become confusing when the collision with the falling block will be added. I'll need to think about that. You don't have to control both mechanics exactly the same time, though with the obstacles added it may turn out to be necessary at times. :)

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I like games that make me work ... I like it

vrld says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Interesting concept. Having to manage both the puzzle and the platformer is fun, but gets too easy later on.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

The combination is unusual. I played it like two games one after the other. You could bond the components more.
However, it is interisting.

RawBits says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Arrow-x: Glad you liked it! :)

vrld: With the added static walls and spikes it yould be more difficult. Also the collision with the falling block would make it harder as those could crush the guy.

little-automaton: I don't realy understand what you mean by bonding the components more. However, I'm happy I came up with an interesting idea. :)

Thank you for trying out this unfinished game of mine. I'll rate back soon!

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I already commented In Static Void Games...
So are you going to do a post compo?

RawBits says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:22am

Gaspard_: As soon as I have time. I'm despairingly trying to get a job so I don't get droped out to the streets... :(

Alexandre says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Fun game! It's a little boring to farm for time in the beginning, and moving the colored block can be a little error prone sometimes.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Time is actually not a concern, as others have noticed, you can just press Down for a long time. The general idea is interesting but would maybe require some more thought, the main concern right now is to manage to *avoid* gaining seconds, because it moves your character down.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Alexandre: Can you explain the error in more detail, please?

Latcarf: This is only a thoughtless mashup so don't expect too much. :) There were some cool ideas though what I'll consider to implement later.

Thank you for playing my game!

DissidentDan says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Neat idea. It seemed really hard at first, but once I got that first three-peat, it quickly became very easy to add as much time as I needed to the clock. I think that it would have been better if the block stuck together Tetris-style, but maybe I am wrong.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

DissidentDan: That would kill some cool ideas so I rejected it. Though it's interesting enough so maybe there will be a mode or something...

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Cool! Like the gameplay

Grafter says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

unique idea and fun to play!

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]