August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dance Dance Revolution: Atart 2600 edition

by JoeCool17 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ever wanted to play Dance Dance revolution, but felt there wasn't enough seizure in it? Ever wanted to be in control of everything yourself? Well, now you can! From Homebrew Laboratories, comes:

DDR: Atari 2600 Edition!

Unlike normal DDR, where the game paces you, due to budget cuts and platform constraints (hey, there's no framebuffer on the 2600. You expect magic? Gumdrops? FAIRIES? No, this is REAL gaming, son.), YOU are in control of the pace! That's right! You have 10 seconds to get as many points as you can. During that time, the screen will turn one of 4 colors: Red, Green, Blue, or Yellow. Press the corresponding arrow key (as denoted in the lower right corner), and get a point! If you get it wrong, you'll lose a point! In either case, the screen will then flash with a different color. This continues until 10 seconds are up, at which time you'll get roughly 1 second for a breather until it begins again.

To download from GDrive: Ctrl-S or "File"->"Download"

Open the file named "DDR Atari 2600 edition.exe" to play!

Font: "Press Start 2P" by codeman38:
http://www.fontspace.com/codeman38/press-start-2p

Source is included with windows download. If you want to help me out by compiling for other platforms, that'd me *extremely* well appreciated!

Source dependencies:
SDL 1.2.15
SDL_Image 1.2.15
SDL_Mixer 1.2.15
SDL_ttf 1.2.15

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#426Audio2.76
#494Humor2.32
#971Theme2.63
#997Fun2.33
#1000Innovation2.28
#1033Mood1.88
#1076Overall2.42
#1176Graphics1.52
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Google wants me to register, sorry.

JoeCool17 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

@Endurion: It shouldn't be, I have it set to allow anyone to download...

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59pm

My highest score: 15
My lowest score: -32

Shit yeah

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Would have been easier by showing big arrow on screen, and it's really hard to know how good you are doing, my best score was 13 :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

innovation at it's highest peak!

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

As someone who is colourblind, this was pretty difficult to play, but it was a pretty fun minigame ;)

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Dunno what was up with Google, worked fine now.

Not really innovative, but nice little ditty!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I think the music will be playing in my head for a looong time. D:

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Highest: 13
Lowest: -127

Great soundtrack, and that's the most important part of DDR, right?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]