August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cosplay Temp

by SusanTheCat - Jam Entry

You need to make money for your costume before the big convention. Lucky the local Temp Agency always has positions available.

Every morning you pick what job you want, then you have 10 seconds to get dressed. (You are a compulsive late riser!) To get dressed, just click on the items you want to wear. Certain outfits give you bonuses on certain jobs. However, if you wear something inappropriate, you will have money deducted!

You will get the chance to buy new outfits at the end of every day.

There are 3 cosplay costumes and 2 achievements to unlock.

Made with Renpy

Programming: SusanTheCat
Sprite Art: Psychokitty
Music: SusanTheCat
Background Art: SusanTheCat

Super Cuteness: Olive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Overall(Jam)3.78
#66Fun(Jam)3.56
#89Theme(Jam)3.56
#97Audio(Jam)3.48
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#144Graphics(Jam)3.81
#152Innovation(Jam)3.30
#209Mood(Jam)3.14
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

gbear605 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Pretty good. Better than I was expecting. It is a little confusing.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

I like the idea, the art and the realization. I like the music, too, but I was wondering if you actually made it in 48 hours, sounded like there was some singing involved, but then I realized that it's a jam entry ;-) Good job.

zanval says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

The game was interesting.
It got boring very fast though, as I could repeat being a 190% Executive assistant until I had a good costume.

Got me very curious about which costume I would buy in the end.

If it were less repetitive (only offer me some of the jobs, so I must switch often?) it would probably be much more fun.

I enjoyed the theme and art style.

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

Thanks for all the nice comments!

The music was created using Magix Music Maker and pre-recorded sounds and loops.

zanval: I line going with the Theme Park Mascot because you get 300B a day and only have to click once. :)

Susan

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Really nice game, I liked it. The only thing that's weird is that you can simply buy a Theme Park costume and easily get $300/day until the very end - that's maybe not very realistic, while you earn $190/day as an Executive Assistant. But who knows, maybe that's how it is in that city. Good work!

What are the 2 achievements? I've got to all of the (three?) endings, with all of the three avatars, but nothing appeared.

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Hint: They are completion achievements...

I think if I had more time, I would balance the jobs out more. The idea was that the theme park job would only be available on the weekend -- but the days of the week sort of fell to the wayside.

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

Amazing, I loved it. I was arrested for public indecency, haha.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:45am

To be honest the game was a bit boring, although the audio was great.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23am

Good game overall, but the music annoyed me a bit.

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

You can turn the music down in Preferences. :)

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:12am

"public indecency" LOL just great! I don't like these type of games but this one kept me clicking! GREAT music! And I also envy your menu/preference polish!! Really nice game!!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:33am

That was really cute, and a very interesting use of Ren'Py. I had no clue it exported to Android!

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I wonder if anyone found the Organ Harvesting ending...

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Why do you get a bonus for bringing a leash to a babysitter job? Is this some kind of statement about child rearing? Oh, and I got the organ harvesting ending. :D

I liked the game, but it got a bit repetitive once you figured out a strategy. Found a way to get to executive assistant in about six or seven turns, and from then it was just grinding the same. The music and art was great.

Is it the job choice or amount of money that decides the costume outcome?

Anyway, fun game. Great job! :)

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Right now it is the amount of money that determines the costume.
Given more time I would have the jobs only be on certain days and have actual plot lines based on what jobs you take.

Thanks for playing.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Strangely addicting. The music was a bit annoying after a while. Nice work.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

fun game. fantastic music. I think I painted the most, cause i never got a nice pair of pants

Markavian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Solid game concept. Crashed on me after I bought all the clothes and ran out of time. It gave me +500 and then died, and I had used the Theme Park suit twice to get $610 by the end. Great work overall, really enjoyed it.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:12am

That was quite amazing. I'm not fan of dress ups or life-management-kinda games, but this was quite enjoyable.

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Organ harvesting ending was kind of creepy and not funny.

Got both achievements. It seems that you've used "true" instead of "True" in the source code, and that's because it crashes if you've got any of the two achievements.

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:20am

Thanks!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I enjoyed this! Pretty challenging, and it wasn't very easy telling the different clothing articles apart during the time limit, but then, it's not meant to be easy.

And hey, I'm a Capsule Monsters trainer now!

Not the most awe-inspiring thing I've seen in this LD, but polished, nice-looking and very playable. I'll probably come back to this one to see if I can do better.

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Very clever approach, I liked it! I didn't get to unlock any of the "silly" stuff until the very last day so I wasn't sure if there was any logic to the progression and how things unlocked. A little UI wrangling could help convey that. Nice work!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:18pm

[2:02:01] Oxygame *: You never win ! Hahahahah

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]