August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Basketball Shootout

by Shackelford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Unity, Mono Develop, Audacity, Inkscape, and NGUI.

I hope you enjoy, and thanks for playing!

P.S. My high score is level 22 shots made. Can you beat it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Fun3.83
#322Overall3.30
#433Theme3.30
#480Graphics3.00
#566Mood2.71
#622Audio2.43
#647Innovation2.83
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

psychopsam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05am

Great game. I got to 11

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

Fun little game. I need to work on my baskeball skills though :(

Serishmus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:12am

third round draft pick! Too bad there is no 3rd round

justi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

7 lvl in first attempt. Good game, good work :)

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I could only make 5. :( Fun little game, though. The physics were really effective.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Pretty cool! Unfortunately, the best strategy is to just fire off as many basket balls as you can in the hopes that one bounces it. There was a fairly common glitch that would lock the balls into flying straight up and would end the game.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

Nice. This would make a fun phone game.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Simple, but fun game.

Jedi says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Very addictive, fun game!

It would have been nicer if the basketballs were either less bouncy or disappeared after a while, as a lot of my shots were getting blocked by balls I'd thrown much earlier.

An on-screen counter for the number of baskets made would also be nice.

The mechanics are very simple and very fun! Moving the player back just a little after each shot was made was brilliant!

I played this one quite a bit; I managed to get 19 baskets :)
Good job!

Katamori says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Honestly, I expected for something irrelevant bad game, but I'm incredibly disappointed - in a good meaning! SUPERFUN GAME!

Graphics is so solid but still works. Reminds me of cel-shading somehow.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]