August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Thorvald

by FunByJohn - Jam Entry

Use the arrows or WASD to move. Z or Space is action key.

This is a game made in 72 hours by:
@Takorii (art + audio + game design)
@FunByJohn (programming + game design)

You can only use a tool for 10 seconds until it vanishes and becomes a feather.

--

We chose to make a game where you had to progress through a level only having 10 seconds to live, and you had to create shortcuts by utilizing tools, so each time you played again you would progress a little more. After play-testing this idea and finding it pretty tedious, I changed it by making the items timed instead of the player himself. The level was still designed about a time limit and just needed a few minor modifications to reflect this change in gameplay. Most time was spent on polishing the game, I've gotta admit, so the amount of content is pretty lacking, but I still feel we've got enough to demonstrate the idea. Hopefully we could maybe add some more levels some time in a post-compo but I'm not promising anything.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#7Graphics(Jam)4.71
#17Audio(Jam)3.96
#21Overall(Jam)3.92
#40Theme(Jam)3.75
#53Fun(Jam)3.61
#73Mood(Jam)3.59
#105Innovation(Jam)3.45
#124Humor(Jam)3.08

Comments

CoOz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Really great game! Graphics and animation are awesome. Integration of the theme in the mechanics is really sweet! Godd job guys :)

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52pm

This is really nice.
The graphics are just beautiful!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08am

Very Awesome! Really great combination of music and art that really sets the environment perfectly. Also good use of the theme with the tools. Great job, I really liked this game. I even searched around after I beat it looking for some hidden easter egg or something, I think that's a sign that you did something right :)

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

Beautiful! The graphics are very good and unique, the music fits the game and mood very well, and the game mechanic is still interesting by the time the game ends. The game is very polished and very enjoyable. :)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

Great graphics, good gameplay. I'd like to see more of this!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Not bad, I think. Still unfinished and primitive. But game have potential. Nice graphics anyway =)

michail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Good job, awesome graphics and gameplay! I wish it was a little bit longer.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Great game and solid entry (:

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Made me smile ) Great graphics, audio, mood.
I really enjoy it!

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Love the art! Feels really polished as well.
Also, dat ending.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Really good looking game.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Beautiful graphics and really innovative gameplay! Only thing is it could use more levels or something, but there's only so much you can do in 72 hrs. :I

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Incredible, worked and fun game.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

One of the best game so far :) game mechanics are sweet like chocolate, graphics and sound are made in heaven... good designed puzzles... it fits perfect to the theme :) Thanks !

joekinglake says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Really lovely game. Graphics are very clean and polished. The game is fun and there is very little to no down time. Really enjoyable. Great job.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

LOVE the graphics. This game has some charm. I wasn't exactly sure what the goal of the game is, but I sure did enjoy running around destroying the beautiful scenery. Goood sound and music design too.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Very solid game, I like the way the mechanics overlap to create puzzles. It was a nice calm puzzler. The graphics are top notch.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I very much dug the art style and game feel. Running around and using the tools was very satisfying, even without much of an ultimate goal. The feathers confused me a bit. It seemed like they tracked wherever I ran out of time with a tool, but is there a particular reason for that?

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Good job! i liked playing it :) Graphics & Sound are very nice and gameplay works pretty well.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Such a beatiful and simple game. Great job.

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Great graphics.
Nice level design by the 10 secs tolls. Great execution.
Sad that is too short and you couldn't come with an end =/
But great work guys.

Oh, and in one of my gameplays i get stuck behind the great tree over the torch toll.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

A really great game, excellent level design.

Oh and "LOL", I found your Easter egg ;)

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Nice job

Check out our game

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02pm

The way the game moves and sounds is incredibly pleasing. The music is great and the graphical style is very lively and fun. The 10 second pickup and puzzle mechanics are simple yet effective! Good job! - SB

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Very good job, one of the best entry I played so far! Clever mechanic, smooth controls, nice graphics, good music and a LOL at the end.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

That was great - brilliant little puzzle mechanic, you could make a much bigger game out of this.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I really like this game. really cool concept and work on the theme. you have all the components of a good work here.

I found a bug if you run into an item while the time runs out of the same item you can have the item with infinite time. an example: have the torch above your head. run directly into the torch from the left side. when the timer runs out you will have infinite torch until you change items.

keep up the great work. you must keep working on this after ld27. it's very fun.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice art, I love the use of colors! Animation is pretty top-notch as well. That ending made me laugh, I was also wondering about the same thing. :D

EpaceGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Five stars overall for me! I loved it, very polished and presentable with smooth gameplay. The art and choice of color is wonderful. Great work you guys!

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Hahaha I had so much fun playing this. The graphics are the best I've seen so far.

Reminds me of Legend of Zelda ^^

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very good game. Good graphic, good gameplay and good integration of the theme.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

didnt enjoy the use of 10 seconds too much, but everything else was really awesome =D commented on your deviant art about where i got stuck =[ not that it really matters, f5 ftw!

hope to see more of this game its awesome!

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Great music and visual style! I like the idea of the different kinds of tools.

shubshub says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Great Game :) I Loved it every bit of it
Good Work :) :)

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Nice use of the theme, I loved the graphics, the music is good too, nice work!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:20am

Really great! Good concept, very polished visuals and audio, and even though the game is rather short at least it doesn't overstay its welcome. Nicely done! I'd definitely play an expanded post-compo version.

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21am

Does it end when how does it end?

Well done! Beautiful graphics and music. Unique and fun mechanic, though I wish the feathers did something.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

Great music and the animations and overall art was really charming. The gameplay was interesting and fit the theme, I think the only real problem is that I didn't really feel like there was much of a drive for going further and further north.

koe415 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41am

Very fun game. Makes use of the theme pretty well, being tied to the duration of holding a tool. The duration was a tad short but it was all really polished for the time you guys had on making the game. One thing that I have to point out: I LOVE THE MUSIC. Absolutely top notch. Please make moar!

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23am

Yo you two are rapidly becoming ludum dare wizards. First Vast and now this? ugh. Stop being so good.

Loved the concept combined with the visuals, I really enjoy the 10 second usage of items- would make for an awesome frantic puzzle game type thing.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06am

Beautiful game! I love how it doesn't need any complicated tutorials, you just learn as you go. Simple and effective game mechanic. Great job! :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:12am

Really nice. I played this game longer than any I've rated so far - so satisfying. It felt a tiny bit grind-y having to return for weapons... i think there should be some duplicates at the beginning.

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07pm

As said before, awesome art and animations. I like it a lot :3
Gameplay and level design are friggin cools too, wunna play moar D:

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Really nice game from all viewpoints. I just wish it was longer!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

Beautiful art and music. Didn't like the gameplay as much as it felt tedious to run back for different items all the time. Definitely fun to run around it. I'd work on it further as the art and music make you want to stay.

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

Highly polished in all respects. Well done!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

Absolutely fantastic!!!!!!!

We both used Scandinavian themes yay!

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Great work! Nice graphics, nice sound, nice theme - gorgeous! :)

bombjack says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

great game, very fun!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

Awesome graphics, music, sound effects, humor and mood!
The ending was a bit confusing at first but then it was just funny.
It was a great game. Thanks, guys! =)

zillix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:54am

fantastic job! the graphics and beautiful and the level design was great. I'm rather fond of this style of puzzle game.

sanojian says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Really smooth controls and beautiful graphics.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:33am

HOW DOES THE GAME END!? *shrugs*

Loved the concept of this. Love the art too it really looks absolutely fantastic. Would be even cooler if you could add a puzzle aspect to it somehow rather than just fetch and carry, but it works well as it is too.

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:52pm

what a lovely idea
very nice game, enjoyed it a lot
thank you guys

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:59pm

The game is very cute and charming. The tool mechanic is interesting.

Nice job!

shohs says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:55am

I really liked this. The graphics, music, and the ten second tools were all really great. I would have liked it to be a bit longer, maybe with different areas? Great job though.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:47am

Hahaha that ending. Lovely graphics.

01rafael says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Not bad

Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Gorgeous! I want to spend more time in this world. Your art style is really attractive.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Nicely done. Although there is not so much content, the gameplay is very solid and invites to explore.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]