August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nonzero

by koller-digital - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you have to add cards together to reach goals. But be quick, because the cards will disappear after ten seconds.

You need Java Version 7 to start this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#132Innovation3.66
#529Overall3.08
#566Fun2.92
#631Theme3.10
#864Audio1.80
#924Mood2.21
#932Humor1.50
#979Graphics2.14

Comments

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04am

Interesting concept (never saw something like that :) )
I really liked the tutorial / explanation / mission combination that introduced me into the game. While the sfx kindof blasted the my brain out it was really fun. Thank you :D

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05am

This is a really neat idea!
The game is a bit difficult though, maybe because I am on my laptop right now. Nonetheless, everything is quite well

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16am

Took me a while to get the hang of it, but pretty cute! I had fun.

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18am

Its hard to understand at first, but really really original.

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

I really like the idea and I played this for quite a while.

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Nice game. :)
I liked the concept, even though I found it a bit challenging. I played around 2 minutes before I realised I could create those "tens" and then about another 4 minutes before realizing I could drop them to the recycler to get points. :P
I liked micro-managing the cards, trying to not let them disappear.
The sound for a disappearing card was SO annoying :D liked the game anyway.
Also, the achievements were very nice and the fact that the game wouldn't end in your loss and you couldn't lose a level if you've already achieved it.
Good job.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

The screenshots don't really do this one justice, it's a slick little card puzzler with a really interesting, imaginative design. Some of the goals are quite tricky, but it certainly kept me hooked.

leedo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48am

I stopped playing when the game asked me something about card worth 50.

The gameplay is original and the tutorial is well though, but there is a lot of little thing to discover which aren't obvious.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56am

Very neat idea. Easy enough to grasp, but hard to master.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

Really difficult to get into, but once you finally start getting the idea, it becomes really fun.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32am

Interesting, but you need to explain the "ten" cards.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

It needs to explain some things a little bit more, but I like all the combinations and things you can do, and the missions.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Neat concept!

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Took a little while before I understood what to do, but when you get into this, it's a micromanager's dream, really enjoyed it!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Very Addictive!

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

hmm, i could not start it :/ nothing happens, not even an error message

zanval says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

The first game that I found to support linux,
even if without sound :P

I really loved the game concept and I think it is quite addicting. You created something very original and really fun to play!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

Nice idea and good creation for Compo. :)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19am

Got it to work on my Macbook. It was a bit choppy at times, but I don't know if that's just because i use an unlisted OS. A really nice idea - hectic, and overall pretty polished.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I can tell you put a lot of work into this even though it is not really something I enjoy

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Very awesome concept. I enjoyed it, but it took a while to get hold of it! Well done!

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42pm

nice idea - but i don't really get it - maybe my fault

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47am

i like the concept, good job, so fun.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16pm

The idea sounded a bit boring at first but I think it's actually rather fun. Quite unique aswell

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Tough to grasp at first, but there's a smart puzzle game hiding in there. Good work!

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Definitely original!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Interesting game even if it's a bit hard to understand the rules. I managed to reach level 10 but then it was becoming too hard.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:10am

The sounds really were very, very harsh. The game has a pretty good conspept and does include the theme, however fraps would not record it for my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games.. :/

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Nice, I like the concept.. Also the introduction into game-rules is very well done.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

great idea. didn't think I'd like it as much as I did . but then I ended up playing it for quite a while. well done.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:51am

good job

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:40am

really neat card puzzle game -- good job

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:57am

Very cool concept! At first I though it was just tutorial but the achievements kept on coming throughout the whole game! Great design for the learning curve to an original concept!

Sh1rogane says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Had some trouble getting started but when i understood it all it was a very fun game :D

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Neat Math game!
I like the 100 points cards, it sort of shows that even high red cards can be good!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:17pm

My Game is much better than yours! OHOHOHOHO ! Russian Alien watching you .............

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]