August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life goes by in 10 seconds

by DavidErosa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a really short version of what I had imagined! I wanted to create a game showing how life can change in 10 seconds given a series of events and choices, but finally this looks like some kind of sad story :)

Anyway as always I had a great time working on this. I'll check the time-lapse, bu tI think I could only work 16-18 hours on this one...

Stop listening me complaining and play my game!

Source: https://www.dropbox.com/s/c8elrztl80bs6yg/Sources.zip

Edit: Fixed the webplayer link. Thanks for noticing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#252Mood3.17
#418Innovation3.15
#510Theme3.23
#569Overall3.04
#600Humor2.17
#710Audio2.24
#836Graphics2.42
#908Fun2.48
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

Darien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

The web link isn't working for me; brings me to a Dropbox page where I can choose to download an .html page.

UltraRat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

clicking on the Web link brings you to a download an html file page and doesn't actually play. ( At least in Win8/Chrome )

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22am

I fixed the Unity webplayer link. Thanks guys.

Feffers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:26am

Interesting concept, I like where this could go if you had more time.

BlackBird says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

Very well done on the mood and innovation of bringing me through the choices of life. I did not see any challenge, but liked the concept of choices and life being about those choices.

If you have some time to play/comment on mine, it'd be appreciated:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=1888

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:32am

This game really had an interesting vibe. At it's core, it's just a simple basic platformer, but you added a nice spin with the real world analogy. I think it could have been even better with giving the player more choices that affect the game's outcome. The movement and jumping were a bit wonky, but overall, it was quite nice.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

Drugs are bad, mkay?

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

Ha very cool! Effective use of the image effects and really funny.

char68 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43am

I like the sentiment. It feels a bit like Passage considering how quickly you live through a lifetime (or at least your avatar does). It did feel a bit awkward in that even though I couldn't go back to a younger age, I could go back to get all the gold and all the hearts, maybe that was on purpose to show that it doesn't really affect the outcome? But nice game, I especially enjoyed the end :)

doonay21 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:24pm

One of my favs! Congratulations for the most original concept! Good job!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:30pm

That was really quite touching!

kraj0t says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:59pm

A very nice experience. Thank you for it.

Enhorabuena de parte de un trianero ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]