August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

VoxSculpt Challenge

by Yann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

/////////////////////
CONTROLS:

Left Click to delete a cube (you can hold and move to delete multiple cubes)
Right Click on a cube to create one on its side.

Left Click anywhere else and Drag to start rotating the puzzle
MouseWheel to zoom in/out


////////////////////
GOAL:

Sculpt the block of cubes to match the model (in the same orientation)

You can choose the 10 second challenge or to just play peacefully as your own rythm

(they are 10 relative... seconds (: )



////////////////////
Blablah:

My first game on Unity

There's an awefully big thunderstorm here so I'm uploading now though I wish I could have added sound...


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

This is a good idea. And could easily be extended into a mcuh larger game!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I sculpt peacefully.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

The controls were a bit finicky and difficult to grasp, but once I got the hang of it, I could finish levels pretty consistently. I definitely like the concept and enjoy an expanded version of the game.

Congrats on you first Unity game.

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

Nice simple game, good use of unity. It was amazing how terrible I did once under time pressure x_x

Codexus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:27am

Nice and simple. Sculpting "peacefully" was a lot less frustrating than the sculpting challenge. Good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34am

Nice job - it felt very responsive, and having the sample rotate with the sculpt was a great idea. Would like to see this taken further.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:38am

Sculpting peacefully is such a relaxing thing to do. I would like to see a button to undo your last step. Good job overall!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Love concept, but theme is attached. Also it will better if camera could rotated by WASD or arrows.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I really liked the simplicity of this, sculpting peacefully was quite relaxing

Yann says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Oh nice you like, at two third of the dev I was starting to wonder if it wasn't too boring (:

@zatyka yeah I hesitated to implement some 3Ds max/maya/blender like viewport controls but it wouldn't have helped for the learning phase of the game. But maybe there are better rotation algorithms for a click/drag control

@Erkberg yeah the undo, I thought about that but I concluded that being able to recreate a cube would be enough... Maybe not...

@SaintHeiser yeah the theme definitely feels like it doesn't belong, but to my defense I did start to think from it. I wanted to create a challenge for people to exercise their 3D representation and maybe take a liking into sculpting voxel art :D
But yeah... the theme felt more and more like it didn't belong, and I actually implemented it at the end.

@SaintHeiser yeah as an extra control you're probably right, the more the better (:

Thanks again everybody, I'll try to take some time to try your games as well (:

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:54pm

This is a very nice puzzle game :)

Good job!

DuFF says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:38am

Good idea. Could be extended.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]