August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life of a Photon

by netguy204 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Did you know that a photon can travel 1.8 million miles in 10 seconds? That sounds like plenty of room to build a game!

Grab things that give you energy and avoid things that take it away. Get up enough speed to see the universe in your short lifetime. (Note that relativistic time dilation will extend your life a bit if you pick up enough speed!)

Make sure you play more than once.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#10Audio4.00
#170Overall3.52
#206Theme3.55
#212Mood3.26
#262Fun3.31
#281Innovation3.36
#336Graphics3.28
#383Humor2.58

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Really fun and good looking game!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Oh that is great. Super addictive and beautiful. And the sounds.... really polished and entertaining effort.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

This was a lot of fun. Good music, nice narrative, glad I played it.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Amazing audio and mood, interesting and fun gameplay, I kept re-playing and re-playing to get the best score. One of my favorite entries so far!

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Really nice game. Some weird bugs where I would randomly enter the same screen, then warp to another screen in the middle, and where the time would reset to 10.0 despite not restarting. Also, unintuitive that leaving from the top of the screen makes you come out of the bottom screen. Still a fun game. The ghost trails and high scores make it very replayable. I also really enjoyed the tutorial design!

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Awesome game! I really like the art style and the sound effects/music. The controls are good as well. The only problem I had was the playing field gets really messy after a few runs and it gets harder to play, but other than that, I really liked your game, good job!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

The music is just wonderful.
Nice graphic style as well!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21am

The gameplay isn't really to my taste, but that music is fantastic. If it were compiled into a less "video game loop" format I would listen to it. Reminds me a bit of the Bastion soundtrack. I also like the look of the photon.

The bit about time dilation made me chuckle.

EggPlant <3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Simple short game. Nice easy to pick up mechanic and cute little backstory. I liked how the pickup sounds were always in rhythm with the music, a nice touch.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

I love the fact that you can see your old path. Music is nice and "story" is well written. An enjoyable ride.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

A really fun and quirky sort of game!
Great music, really made it that much more enjoyable!

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00am

Awesome game. Very easy to become addicted to. Liked the music and the story too.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24am

Your game is refreshing. I would live to play it on a tablet, and control it with my fingers, or to use my mouse to control the photon. That's the major grip I have with this game, the control. But I got used to it quickly enough. =)

The story is simple and captivating. I tried the best I could to keep going, and move further into the giant space, because I really liked the "death screen" messages.

The music was simple, and yet fitting to the game, giving that feel of space exploration...

This would be a great game to play on the go. So if you can do a port of it to mobile platforms (even as it is) you can be in for big money.

Rated 9/10 will play again when finished (or as it is, for that matter).

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

Very good game, but I got really frustrated on the distance portion of the game, where those rocks kept being at the very left end of the screen, giving me no time to dodge them at all.

Still very fun and I really liked the 'story telling' mechanic, if that's what you would call it. :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27am

I love the narrative, the music is pleasant to listen to which is good because of how many playthroughs one might make. The sound effect compliment the music quit well.

Best: Distance .152, Speed .7863.

-AlucardX60

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44am

I really liked the trails of previous runs, that was really cool. Sometimes it wasn't really clear why I slowed down though.

Zuige says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47am

Lovely little game! :) Really enjoyed this one. Sweet little story as well. :)

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Very good audio and mood! Also, I really like your thoughts on the theme.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:55am

Fun, very good looking and just the right amount of difficulty. Well done!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:33am

I already gave you most of my opinion in IRC, but basically the controls are a little awkward and there is an unstable equilibrium where if I get hit by an orange photon, I slow down and can't catch any blue ones, which keeps me slow.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:17am

i think i'm going to come back to this a lot in the future. simple but fun.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

I liked how the story unfolded as you play through the game. Displaying all the movement paths was also a nice touch. My best distance was 0.086 AU and best speed was 0.6758 C.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Very nice game, and the music is awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]