August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Turnip Archer

by LastResortGames - Jam Entry

Defend your Turnips!

New Round every 10 seconds. Power Ups last 10 seconds.

Arrow Keys - Attack
Q - Use Bomb
W - Use Twin Shot
E - Use Tri Shot
Esc - Pause

To Collect power ups let the balloons come to you without shooting them. If you do shoot them they will activate a one-off power-up.

And we have sound! Just in the nick of time. Please let us know if the Linux build does not work properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#289Fun(Jam)2.94
#349Humor(Jam)2.19
#369Audio(Jam)2.57
#436Overall(Jam)2.76
#437Mood(Jam)2.48
#463Graphics(Jam)2.65
#516Innovation(Jam)2.34
#575Theme(Jam)2.11

Comments

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Not great, but has potential. Even some basic music would be nice.

Danex317 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I didn't realize Jam entries could be rated already when I put it up. I just wanted to make sure we put something up in case today didn't go as planned. We are going to add sound in a few hours.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Needs some difficulty tweaking. Now it is way to easy just to spam arrows for ever. Good visuals! Some sound would have been nice also.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

As your background is static image I would only suggest to put more time in it and give it some detail.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

Not bad game.
I guess i can see white borders on spiders texture.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01am

great job! i was shooting soo0 many arrows sipers never know what hit them

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04am

Overall this game had a great mood to it. However there was one small problem . Your spider texture should be set to clamp not to repeat.

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15am

I got 1,135,500 :P Nice little game!

Danex317 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

@Zephyr89 I was going to be really disappointed if that really fixed the spider texture issue but it doesn't. (At least not in the editor). If we come across it again in the future I will make sure to keep that in mind though. Thanks.

Tiago says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

It begins a little slow but by the time I hit the 500 kills mark it got very challengine! needs a little improvement here and there but overall good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

This one is super addictive! Thanks)

I thought I was a talented archer until next level) That was a real hardcore)

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Good combination of graphics and audio to make a nice mood. I wasn't really too sure how to get the power shots, but overall nice game!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Not a bad game but the difficulty could use some tweaking. Right up until the end of the game I found it too easy and never had to even think about using a powerup, but in the last 10-20 seconds before I died I felt myself completely overwhelmed and lost really quickly. I also felt the button mashing to be a bit spammy and would have liked quick thinking to play a bigger part. Having said all that I still enjoyed this quite a bit and thought it was pretty good in general :) My score was 2,521,280.

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Simple mechanic done really well. I had a lot of fun playing that.

Mesene says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Was nice :D

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Tightly made, but it's weakened by being able to spam arrows. Spiders sometimes spawned so rapidly, the sense of it being 10-second waves blurred a bit. I think less frequent spiders moving at variable speeds would be a better fit.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:51pm

good job, entertaining game

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Small but nice little game. A few more enemy types would bee cool.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Good work. It needs more polish, it's quite easy if you mash button

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

Could you lose? I played for a while and never even barely lost. Could just infinitely spam arrows?

Perhaps have limited arrow per round or reload time or something?

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice little entertaining game, nice work!

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

At first I was "okay, too easy when you understand how to play"
But then my left hand started to hurt, I've got to use the arrow keys too fast.
A little repetitive at the end, but all in all, a good game :)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

A bit repetitive, maybe add some different types of enemies and make the character move and then it will be great!

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

"And she never ate turnips again..." Ha! Nice simple mechanic and addictive gameplay. Could have done with a few more enemies for variety but I enjoyed playing this.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Nice little game. A tower defense in which you're the tower and you defend yourself :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

Got 5665920, 1070 enemies killed, 1064 streak heh : D Was a fun little game but if you use two hands and mash the arrow keys you can be shooting in all directions at once pretty much constantly XD

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice pace. Can't manage to use special abilities (only figured out how to use bomb). Graphics could use some polish but generaly good job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:45pm

You should seriously consider putting up a recoil/reload mechanic. Or atleast a negative for missing targets. Right now, all I need to do is use two hands, and I can shoot in all directions at once, and never lose! :p It had me laughing out loud literally. +5 humor

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:18am

NIce art and effort. Afraid I didn't find a lot of challenge with it. I just spammed all 4 buttons and coasted past level 20. Would work on the gameplay some more. Keep adding to it.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:50am

Ahaha I had a surprising amount of fun playing this!
I still can't leave it down.
Wow. 5/5 for fun!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice game, fun game, good work! Pretty hand-drawned stuff!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Music is sick. its the best part. brought be back to the NES days. The game is fun. if phones had proper d pads I would want this game on it.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:01pm

good visuals and gameplay.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Spamming arrows wooo.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]