August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tokyo Station

by Chinchilla - Jam Entry

Didn't have much time over the weekend to work on an entry. So here's my token jam entry that I cooked up on the monday.

Didn't have enough time to tweak the gameplay and add more interesting wall patterns.

Catch the red powerups to boost your multiplier, avoid the spinning wall pieces. If you get to 10 seconds with your multiplier intact, it gets added to your score.

The whole game lasts about 3 minutes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Audio(Jam)3.38
#154Graphics(Jam)3.76
#270Mood(Jam)2.98
#295Overall(Jam)3.12
#336Fun(Jam)2.82
#391Innovation(Jam)2.73
#445Theme(Jam)2.77
#487Humor(Jam)1.47
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

sunnysmiles says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:52am

The mechanics are a bit too clunky, but nice visuals.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:54am

Awesome graphics and presentation/use of screen space. Having the time countdown center screen really adds to it for me. There's not enough visual feedback to make it feel like I'm actually progressing or losing; for a while I was just moving the thing around without a clue what I was supposed to do. Went back to the description and figured it out, but more in-game feedback would make it feel a lot more alive.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58am

Man, for a last minute entry, that was pretty fun. Loved the art and music!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00am

Has a nice trippy feel to it. But for an arcade like game, it's a bit hard to estimate collisions though.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:49am

Needs Unity, which does not run in the browser on Ubuntu. :(

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

nice game, splendid effects, interesting gameplay, endless mode does not fit the 10s quite well, but the visuals repay that fully.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Interesting idea. I like the music. But now I am a bit dizzy...

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:44pm

cool game =]

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

Great idea, really fun, but collision could use some work!

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

What. did. I. EAT before I sat down to play this afternoon, lol. Nice visuals, agree with folmerkelly that the persistent timer as a background is a really nice touch!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Freut says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Great idea and nice look!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice game, the fall feeling is very impressive. Maybe you can add an bigger effect when you collide.

Misfit says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I liked graphics and music. Pretty fun, but needs something more.

Flai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Great visuals and sounds :) ! Gameplay not that great though.

wine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Sometimes difficult to see whether there is a collision. But on the whole a very interesting gameplay and nice visuals

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Liked the visuals and the music, it creates such a nice mood. Good job on that!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Cool game, I think this has the potential to be really fun if you ever wanted to develop this further.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Graphics are really nice! The music was good until that first melody line, but it recovered after that. Like folmerkelly said, there's not much of a sense of progression. Good job making this in one day though, I sure as hell wouldn't have been able to. :P

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Fun and beautiful! Nice work!

Xgor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

It has a cool look to it but more feeback to it. At first I thought it was endless and I didn't get punished for getting hit. A "time left" text of some sort would add a lot to it.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

wut 0_0

triforcespark says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Nice graphics, but does this work with 3d glasses?

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:30am

Very cool game, could use some more feedback on hitting things. Well done!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:39pm

High production values for such a quickly made game. Very well done! I still cannot decide if I like audio of graphics more :D

Ailin says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Definitly not fond of your camera angle choice... you can't tell if you'll hit or passby things.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Both in the compo version and the post-compo the controls are a bit strange as sometimes you have to go offscreen to catch points, nevertheless the gameplay and aesthetic are quite intresting.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:41pm

so cool. love the concept, the visuals, the music, the countdown -- everything except for the controls, that are kinda clunky, especially when you move sideways, and that hasn't really been fixed in the postcompo version either.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Liked the visuals and music. The gameplay was a bit weird, a lot of the times the red blocks would be outside of the area that I could move my cube in. However, when I was able to get the red blocks, I could sort of flow and get lost in the music.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Love the graphical and audio style, reminds me of Rez. Controls were a bit clunky though, and it seems like I couldn't reach some of the red blocks. Overall pretty cool.

GFM says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Amazing graphics!
But the controls didn't work that great, since my screen dimensions is smaller than the required to move through all the scene (and both top and bottom were offscreen).

Except for that, nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]