August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Rio

by jomomomo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beat a 100m time of 10 seconds to win a trip to Rio to compete for Olympic gold (or can you?).

Traditional Left/right arrow to move once the race has started. Keep racing to gain upgrades to run faster and improve your time.

Thanks to kai for help with the audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#272Humor2.79
#502Audio2.64
#726Graphics2.60
#726Theme2.98
#838Mood2.36
#985Fun2.35
#989Innovation2.31
#1038Overall2.49

Comments

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Oh come on, I got less than 10s!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

good :3

Webravenz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I think i will never go to rio ... xD

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I kinda liked the upgrade idea but they didn't seem to make much difference.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Er. Yeah. Simply holding right on the very first race nets you a 09.96 time. Might wanna double-check how you're handling your inputs.

Putting that aside, nice little game. Clean graphics, good audio. Nothing groundbreaking gameplay-wise, but it works. (Well, aside from that one thing I mentionned.)

Good job!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:10am

Simple game but good job. I liked it. I featured this game in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/biBzDWmV3kc

MetroidMan347 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:01am

I didn't really get it and so it ended up taking me a minute to not even complete the first race. I kinda like the idea though, I love mashing buttons. :D

Misfit says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Cool old style sport game. I liked it!

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:35pm

The upgrades didn't seem of much difference but okay game overall...

haloflooder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:54am

Yeah, the controls are broken. I can get less than 10 seconds if you just hold left or right.

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:06am

The controls are kinda weird/hard. Or I just suck.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Absolutely the controls I intended to use are broke, just hold the right key and you should beat 10s. I guess I'll fix that after the competition has ended.

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Too bad the game is broken. Kinda makes the whole upgrade part useless. But I had that in mind while rating, so don't worry. The audio and graphics are great by the way.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:23pm

too bad controls are broken. I like the menu.

Serishmus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:37pm

A little too easy since you can just hold "right" and immediately win.

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

eh... there's really not much gameplay here, the music was good, but this whole thing leaves a lot to be desired, keep up the good work though! I look forward to seeing future entries :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Did all upgrades exept one, Liked the "coach" upgrade!

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:22am

I like that there's upgrades in the game.

A cool idea might be to have a circuit of races and have some smaller ones that the player could win at to compete at the bigger "10 second" race?

Controls were cool.

Static 64 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Not bad, but way too easy. I'm glad I didn't have to mash buttons, though. With another control scheme, this would be a lot of fun.

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I had a bug where I could run, but there was no time running, the screen said "click here" and the camera did not follow my man. Anyway, getting points and upgrading for getting better is a nice concept :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]