August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coin Rush

by lectvs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- YOU NEED JAVA TO PLAY ---
--- Hitting Cancel on the dialog will freeze the game for some reason! ---

Coin Rush is a fast-paced arcade game with 48-hours worth of gameplay! (may require some effort)

The idea is simple: Collect as many coins as you can before you die!

Every 10 seconds (yeah yeah, i know) a random event happens, be it an increase in enemy speed, or more coins!

Enemies fall from the holes above. Jump on his head to defeat him, ala Mario. If he touches you, you die.

Enemies collect fallen coins. When you kill them, DOUBLE the coin amount is released. This makes for interesting combos. Enemies can hold a max of ~500 coins.

There is a shop at the bottom, with 4 items you can buy (one after the other).

Controls:

Arrow Keys / WASD / ZQSD >>>> Move/Move around the Menu
W / Z / Up / Space >>>>>>>>>> Jump
S / Down >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Select/Buy item from shop
Esc >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Quit


There are online scores, but they're a bit finicky. If a problem arises, tell me!

Thanks a ton for checking the game out! I feel this is my personal best entry to a compo so far.

Tech used:
Java
LWJGL library
Slick, for loading resources
MySQL Connector, for server connection
Paint.NET / GraphicsGale for sprite creation
SFXR for sound effects
GarageBand for music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
Fun4.23
#43Overall3.90
#62Audio3.61
#66Graphics4.00
#97Mood3.53
#152Humor3.19
#319Theme3.41
#418Innovation3.15

Comments

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Soooooooo fuuuuuuun... Must plaaaaaay foreeeeeever...

Really though, you're a great artist and it's really really fun. Goooooooood joooooooob!

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54am

Nice game Hahaha, the web version was funny.

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55am

Energetic and fun! Landing in the right spot is pretty difficult, but I think that's good.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:28am

Really fun game! The level of polish is really high. I found it quite difficult to land on the heads; but it's challenging, not impossible!

I like the idea of buying power-ups with your score :)

I'm storing it in my games folder. Please make a post-compo version.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31am

Love this! I have to balance my greed against wanting to play it safe in the pursuit of more gold. Allowing the enemies to collect coins to multiply your earnings gives it the right amount of depth without over complicating things. A must play for this LD!

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08am

THIS IS SO GOOD! The soundtrack and graphics are particularly awesome, and the gameplay is hard enough to make me want to keep playing! A perfect game for playing whilst you wait for your ports to upload :P

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

Very polished fun little game. Well done!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

Simple, with nice graphics, very polished and really really fun. Seriously, I haven't played a better entry on this Ludum Dare.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30am

This game is a ton of fun and very well executed.

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Wow, REALLY FUN! Loved it so much!

My only beef is that if I land behind an enemy while sort of overlapping them it counts as a kill, wish it were easier to land on top of them.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Verrrry Fun! Very difficulty to jump on enemies though.

Jacic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Great graphics and music, but it was deceptively hard to land on the thieves' heads!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Terribly addicting game that ripped two hours away from my development time for my game for the jam, lol. Well, more than two hours because I came back to it today and played for a while longer.

So, I think that's enough to say that it's pretty dang awesome. Fun, simple, addicting.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18am

Well done sir. A perfect game jam game. It reminds me of a video that I saw when Mr. Perfect throws himself a football: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iK7vRYeY3U

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52am

A really fun game with lots of replay value.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Ugh, I tried so much but I'm so bad at it. I managed to buy 3 weapons one time but that took about 20 tries and I died shortly after :( .

Awesome game man, love the art style and the music. Really addictive gameplay.

Miltage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Fantastic Entry. My only critique is to not make the player wait so long before being able to try again. Upon death I would get a white screen for 3 - 5 seconds, I assume this is the game attempting to connect to the database for scores.

With these kinds of arcade games it's nice to be able to jump straight back into the action upon death (think Super [Crate Box/Meat Boy]).

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Hah, loads of fun to play, and has a nice sense of humor!

Siegfur says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:34am

I'm really angry now! It's just too quick D:
Great job overall.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:14am

Fun! Polish! Dang!

*really* good effort for an LD game, one of the few games with serious replay value. Great work!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Graphics were great + music was really catchy! Sooooo fast!! I really sucked at this game, but definitely has high replay value!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Wow very very good and addictive game I'll fav it and come back to check for more !

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Excellent game! This is pure fun. I've just played it for half an hour straight and I'm sure to come back to it again later. Graphics, sound, gameplay, everything is great. I can't find any fault here. Thanks for a very enjoyable experience!

oajfh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Excellent game.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

That's really nice art and nice idea but I suck at games having jumps and platforms and precision :D

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:37am

I love this. Reminded me a little bit of Super Crate Box but just in the feel of it really. Awesome entry. It's one of the few I'll be keeping to play (when I should be working)

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:20am

Really enjoyed this little fun game. I think it has a great replay value!
Not so easy to land on enemies heads, but not even that hard to keep you from trying again! :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:37pm

OMG i went through it without realizing you could kill enemies (thought i had to wait for 10s break), then had to go back and play it again. Really addictive, great job!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:26pm

MY EYES, THEY BLEED.

One hour later (at least) I will tear myself away. The economy in this fictional world must be pretty messed up, the multiplying money is such a clever concept. Creates a really interesting game. Most fun LD27 game I've played definitely.

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Pretty fun game. The one hit death and then game over seems a little harsh.

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:45pm

This is pretty good! Nice graphics, and the music is cool too. It's kinda lame that the optimal strategy though is waiting in a spot and timing your jumps just right instead of walking around. Maybe you need something to motivate the player to move. The way it is now I can keep collecting money in a single spot until the 10s break, then I purchase items and get back to my spot, what doesn't make a much interesting gameplay. Actually, moving isn't even a good strategy right now because the character moves too fast and I always end up dead... Still, this is a nice concept and very addicting.
Also, Online scores isn't working for me, it just says "Fetch error" =(

OBS: Just noticed there's a post-compo version! Ok, I tried it and wow, it's much better indeed. Removing the 10s break was a good decision, and the improved hitboxes are great. Looking forward for new releases!

Eddy93 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 11:14am

This was so fun and addictive! Too bad I did't discover this before..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]