August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Weakening Paddle

by Wukkopi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control a paddle who tries to destroy every block that opposes him. Unfortunately this paddle gets constantly weaker.

To control this paddle use A, D or S, F or arrow keys.

If you can't play this game for some reason, then be sure to check youtube video of this game provided in links above.

This game needs XNA 4.0 framework installed in order to run.

Added post-compo executable. (post-compo Weakening Paddle.exe) which includes following changes:
- Changed "NAME" to "your name here"
- Online competing by default.
- Made paddle faster.
- Took down my online score list.

Thanks to everyone who played my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#489Audio2.68
#730Fun2.71
#778Humor1.88
#885Mood2.28
#941Graphics2.22
#981Overall2.58
#1085Theme2.36
#1177Innovation1.76

Comments

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

crashes on startup. (windows) I did extract it.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Not a bad remake just not very innovative :/ Found the paddle a bit slow.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Good idea, and works well with the theme. The name part for the leaderboard, after you die, could be clearer. I think I registered myself as NAME a few times.

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Friday: This game needs XNA 4.0 runtime. Did you try installing this? If it's still not running let me know.

Diogo, GreenyUk: Thanks for feedback! I'll change that NAME to something else, "your name here" maybe?

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Its fun!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

nice game, Arkanoid games are really awesome! :)

Cardanis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I love the different ways you made the game "Juicy"

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Does what it says on the tin. An old idea, but a good idea.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Not bad but I echo what others said about it not pushing the theme very far. Not bad at all. Wolfram tones for the music?

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

proc: i used autotracker.py to generate music. But actually wolfram tones seems pretty good alternative.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Classic gameplay and the new adjustments do make the game more interesting and fitting for the theme. Would have like a little more innovation but it's still addicting and fun. Good job!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

When one thought arkanoid was dead... this game came in.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31pm

The paddle is slow but the game is good. :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Moody audio :) Nice entry!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Good entry, i only think the paddle is a bit to slow

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I liked the music for sure, very simple game that's been around a while but always fun. I like the concept of time and the 10 second theme in it. Add's a different level of difficulty. I also enjoyed how the music changed.

kratorspore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:49pm

I feel like I've played this game somewhere before ;-)

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Always nice to see a classic like that , I just miss more crazy effect everywhere :D

Tigro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Would like to point out one detail: very nice nuance about the paddle rebound when it contacts the wall with momentum. None of the Breakouts I've played incorporated this and it looks so much better than simply not letting the player move past the wall statically :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:19pm

So it's like Breakout with a Twist..?

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:50am

good job

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Reeeaaaally old idea, well done, that post compo version. I don't see 10 seconds anywhere.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Balls of steel. Awesome powerup.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]