August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rogue Descent

by jonnopon3000 - Jam Entry

Rogue Descent: a floor-by-floor descent into some sort of wire-frame tower full of procedurally generated levels, enemies to fight, experience to grab and upgrades to be had.

Shoot the big red things and the tiny purple things (enemies; gain Exp and Money), pick up the small pink things and the small gold things (health + money pick ups respectively), and clear each level to open the "trap door" (a big white square which you must run into) and move onto the next floor.

Once you level up, you'll be taken to an upgrades screen in which you have just TEN SECONDS to make the choice of what you want to upgrade.
[Gameplay-affecting items purchased with money have been redacted due to time budget, so money is useless!]

-----------
CONTROLS:
-----------
WASD: move
Arrows: shoot
P: Pause
[In Upgrade Menu]: Q/W/E - select upgrade

-------------------
Made in ~12 hours from zilch because I completely missed the 48h compo and still wanted to enter something - it's a bit buggy but not overly so, and I believe the core concept is there.

Can *YOU* be the one to surpass all expectation and spend more than 10 minutes with this game? :D
[I accept no responsibility for injury caused therein]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

You should put some more instruction as to what is money, what to shoot, and how to move to the next level. :)

Nice job!

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44pm

agreed, more tutorial stuff would be nice. smooth controls! liked the style

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Fun game, but what's it to do with the 10 Seconds theme?

jonnopon3000 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54pm

@Pickens: In the upgrades screen you only have 10 seconds to view + purchase the upgrades. This was going to be a more pronounced and graphically dramatic screen, and the items you were going to be able to purchase with money were going to come with cryptic descriptions...so in the full concept, it'd have been relatively tense to be forced to choose so quickly. As it stands, not so much

Andrew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

The collisions seem to be a bit off especially with the big white rectangles. At one point something purple came up to me and my health started dropping. We were overlapping(possibly?) but I moved slower and couldn't get away so I died.

Tifu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

The game doesn't progress for me, I get to the second level area with a red square and a pink square, kill and collect them, and nothing happens =/

jprogman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:41am

Just for the record, what version of Java did you use when creating the game?
As for the game, I don't see it fit the theme. I know it has a 10 second limit at the upgrade screen, but that's sort of too easy to get away with.
Game-play: I like. Nice various tasks to complete to go to next level. The upgrades are a nice touch, although I couldn't get it to work. (It instantly says I ran out of time.)

manuq says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:18am

I like the transition. The controls look good but for shooting I have to keep pressed the arrow keys for a bit.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:01pm

System unsustainable ******

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]