August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coin Collecter

by Unavailable - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No longer available

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#326Fun3.22
#647Overall2.97
#693Humor2.00
#773Theme2.92
#781Mood2.45
#853Audio1.83
#922Innovation2.44
#1072Graphics1.97

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

You got me to play until the end, so nicely done. Upgrade games are fun. Nice job for 8 hours especially.

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54am

Nice straightforward gameplay, with a really well built levelling system. The game is in desperate need of sound though. :/

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Couldn't find openal32.dll :/

HardScore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Its a great game that keeps you playing, i liked the upgradable stats and overall the game would be much better if it had a coin collection sound.

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

Love the upgrade system. Not really sure if the magnet does anything. Finished after 42 rounds!

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15am

@Xatulu did you install Mono? Otherwise download openal32.dll and place it in you system32 folder (bit of a hacky way around)

@gamepopper & @hardscore I suck at sound or graphics :P Couldn't generate a nice coins sound that wouldn't annoy the crap out of you in the final stages.

@tiffi The magnet's effect is better noticeable after level 3, it would have been to OP to soon otherwise.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23am

It's a nice idea, but waving my hand horizontally from side to side is too repetitive for me.
Some sort of blip when you collect a coin could really improve the game.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Very addictive! The concept is pretty straightforward, but the execution really makes it memorable. Good job!

panuo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

simple yet great!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I could not run the game, sorry :C It gives an error from XNA

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

@epicSeedTurtle could you tell me what the error said?

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

Such as simple game yet so fun to play :3

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

dont Work first time.. See the dlls ,, overall great game

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I enjoyed this way more than I felt like I should!

it was quite fun, too bad there wasn't sound :( bfxr and 2 seconds of random coin pickup sound would have improved this a lot!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Watched Colgan play it. Decided to play it for myself and it was just as addicting ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Good job with the half-time recovery. I know how hard it can be - barely made it for the Jam myself.

I still have no idea what Pickup Speed actually does, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Game works flawlessly, and delivers on what it promises to do.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39pm

The pickup speed is quite OP te begin with, was only noticeable at level 0 with level 5+ coins (both of them) Sound generator didn't give me anything that I liked so I scrapped that idea.

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I love upgrade games!! I also made one for LD 27 haha check it out!! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=24715

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Good thing you have added different kinds of coins add more depth into the game. I was able to play it all the way toward the end.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Lol this game is addictive. Played through it twice- First time I finished at lvl 36, the second time at lvl 34 :-)
I really enjoyed it, the "upgrade" system was awesome! The pickup speed stat was very innovative, I liked that a lot!
The art work wasn't as bad as you think, but the game could definitely benefit from some sound.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

"The pickup speed stat was very innovative" Lol wut XD

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Simple but addictive, had to finish it :D

Elrobo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

34

Not bad, simple, but decent concept. Could have used some music/sound to break up the silence.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Played it for a while, I love upgrade games. This one reminded me a lot of Coinbox Hero. :)
(http://armorgames.com/play/12247/coinbox-hero)

nitrocrime says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:59am

Coinbox Hero was on my mind when I made it yeah.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:18pm

My Game is much better than yours!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]