August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Aftur

by Filth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have been sent to another time and place to recover an artifact that might save your people.

Arrow Keys to move.
Down to place bomb.
X to throw sword.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Humor2.68
#497Theme3.24
#527Audio2.60
#556Graphics2.88
#872Mood2.30
#1043Innovation2.20
#1057Overall2.44
#1104Fun2.04
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

I'm not trying to say it's bad, it's just unplayable. Seriously, platforming doesn't work when your character rockets off once you lightly tap the arrow. I got the key after about 20 tries. The bomb? Never got it. Try getting into that room without flying right off the ledge! 2/5.

tower07 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

45 Runs!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

Just too hard. Couldn't even get to the first upper level.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

I can identify that this has good platforming feel (it's VERY Super Meat Boy), but I don't have the dexterity to get past the second section. I spent 10 minutes on it and really didn't even come close.

Graphics and sound are really good for their scope, and it's an excellent braid-esque take on the theme.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

WTB more checkpoints.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

Its very rage inducing, my spinal integrity was compromised quite a bit.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09am

As other have said, the controls are very hard for a platformer - with the 10 second timer thrown in there, it's a pretty damn impossible game.

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10am

Gotta at least have the illusion of winnable.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10am

Controls needed some work. Too Twitchy/sensitive Very frustrating experience. Like someone else stated, I feel the super meatboy in it, I just wish I had some wall sticking power.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10am

Controls are very mushy, which makes for a difficult time platforming. Are all the platforms covered in grease and ice? But the simple art style is nice and clean and I like the design. However, I am upset that you compromised my spinal integrity.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

A little more floaty jumps or something would help. It is really hard to get the bomb, plus having to wait the extra 3-5 seconds each time you fall into the infinite loop is irritating.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

Humorous, but wicked difficult in the first real platforming section.
I tried many times, but never won.

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

Cool game! Got it in 51 tries. Can't understand the hate. I love platformers like this, and it has solid gameplay. Also loved the sentences when you died.

Good work!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

It was pretty hard, but I like where this is going.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

The game seemed really fun. It did. But the controls were like butter, covered in soap, greased up with vegetable oil, covered in Vaseline. I think this game would have benefited from tighter controls, which is a shame, since it seems like it has a lot of potential.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]