August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pro Crastinator

by Jedi - Jam Entry

In Pro Crastinator, you take on the role of someone who goes from job to job, trying to complete each one ten seconds before its deadline.

There's now a MUCH-improved post-jam, and I've gone through a lot of effort to make it so you can easily check out the post-jam and the jam from the same build. I hope you enjoy it! :)

NOTE: I didn't actually finish this entry until about two hours after the jam deadline. Rate me how you will.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#253Humor(Jam)2.54
#375Innovation(Jam)2.77
#387Graphics(Jam)2.89
#456Fun(Jam)2.49
#529Mood(Jam)2.07
#559Overall(Jam)2.47
#601Theme(Jam)1.53

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Did you just make me paint your house for you. @_@

lightsoda says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Too bad about missing the deadline, but as long as you learned something I wouldn't view this as a complete failure. There's certainly potential here. Better luck next time!

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

It's not completed, but it's a good concept

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Hah, that was a lot more fun then it should have been, especially the lawnmowing was good! This needs some sound, though...

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:10am

Interesting concept, man. Too bad you didn't finished in time. To mow the grass felt so satisfying! hehe

Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I cannot believe there was no "done" screen when I finished mowing the lawn :D I felt so empty... Too bad you could not finish it though, I'm willing to think it might have been really funny!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:20am

Who else drove their lawn mower off the edge of the earth because they got tired of mowing the goddamn grass?

Anyway this is not bad and really funny.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:33am

I lost (Drove my lawnmower off the edge of the world as I was curious :P). Too bad about running out of time, perhaps the project was a little big in scope? I like the lawnmowing game and would have been happy with just that as a game if it were fleshed out a little more! Not a bad effort, hope you come back for next time :)

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:28pm

There is a done screen when you finish the lawn, and a funny game after. Figuring out how to drive the lawnmower was funny too. Glad you submitted it even if it was late!

ratking says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:36am

Haha, this reminds me of some German simulation games, like the Landwirtschaftssimulator (Farming Simulator). And I really mowed the lawn completely.
I see now why such games get played - they are, in a sense, very addictive.

And doing some Unity stuff on the laptop after the hard lawn work was kinda rewarding, I dunno why.

Kudos for the cool idea! :-)

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:09pm

haha I liked it. To drive a lawnmower with physic accurate movement =D. Sad that you not finish it in time.

Jedi says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Thanks for all the great feedback!

There's now a postjam version with 10 second solutions; let me know how you like it!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:27am

Nice work on making something. 6/10. Very nice graphics.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Great idea but not the most thing in the world :P And the grass details lagged the game to the extreme on my computer... maybe you should have optimized that level better

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:28pm

hmmm. where is my cursor? ))
I hope that concept might be great. but, I have no solutions how to play in this game (

Derbdale says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Good game, I would like to see a more complete version though :)

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Cool idea. Although it stretched out pretty long when mowing the lawn.

Bactopiad says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

Neat idea, it's a pity you missed the deadline. :-(

Folis says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

Pretty awesome game you have there!
It basically made jobs I dislike doing in RL fun, which was quite weird. ô.o

Sadly the 10s solutions didn't make it into the compo version. (Also I think that lawnmowers aren't supposed to have a top speed of 200 mp/h ;p)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]