August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Astronomical Odds

by gigitrix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Astronomical Odds, the spaceport invasion last-stand simulator.

Every ten seconds, enemies will warp into your sector. Hold off the incursion for as long as you can while defending the base!

Use state-of-the-art radar to pinpoint your foes! Implicitly slow the enemy's advances with the inhibitor. Use gadgetry from the munitions factory to get the edge on your opponents, and heal up with state of the art medical dropkits.

Keep bases alive and they'll reward you with features on 10 second intervals. Lose bases and things will start to go wrong very quickly. You'll lose access to the above features. And there's a nasty surprise in store when that munitions factory pops!

Please note that the login specific features aren't completed yet so there's not much point linking to steam.

Tested In Chrome, should work elsewhere but there may be stray console.* statements in the code (reccommend sticking to Chrome/Firefox)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#306Overall3.32
#425Graphics3.10
#476Fun3.00
#787Innovation2.67
#792Theme2.90
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31am

Please note that the source is embedded in my website's code. Hover the website is open source and it should be fairly trivial for any interested party to extract the LD27 stuff into a fresh Ruby on Rails install (or indeed standalone if you get rid of the Steamy Stuff[tm]).

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

A game after my own heart. A lot of fun, though a bit hard for me.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

The game was fun, but floaty controls made it very difficult to enjoy. Still a solid game.

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Yeah the floatiness is a bit love it or hate it. Difficulty is skewed against you in that the planned persistancy / upgrades system isn't in there yet, and it was balanced (in so much as I had time) for that to be there!

Some of the lower tier upgrades would have given you better brakes at the cost of max speed, for instance. Or you could increase the friction effect on your ship if need be.

Thanks for playing!

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

I was really surprised when the ammunition factory was destroyed.
From that moment, it was gg for sure. (I was facing 17 enemies... so maybe I wouldn't have any chances anyways xD)

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

Yes it's not really that survivable. I left it in without tweaking the drop rate because it's bloody hilarious seeing every single powerup devour your entire base and ship within seconds! If your munitions factory goes without too many around you *can* ninja-grab all the pickups though.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

Floaty controls. Some love them this way, but really fun game overal. I like the laser power up. Fun to spin and shoot that one.

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

Laser's awesome. I'm very partial to the "shotgun" myself (needs a better name really). Something about that cone of death pleases me!

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

frame rate dragged on my machine... would play it more if it didn't.. but still enjoyable.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

Good game; the controls are hard but at least feel spacey. Some audio would really have added to the experience.

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:17am

A little too floaty for me, but great game otherwise, very enjoyable.

CMaster says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Found controlling the ship way harder than it should be.

Gidaio says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

It was very hard to move and aim properly - in the first wave I flew out to meet an attacking ship and spent thirty seconds shooting at him and failing to hit.

gigitrix says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Thanks all for your feedback! Once I gather my thoughts, I may just expand the concept to something a bit more polished and featureful.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]