August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10.00s...10.00s...10.00s...

by kirbytails7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: I've added an Easy Mode, which makes wall jumping much easier and makes some earlier levels less difficult as well.

----

You have 10.00 seconds. Be in the goal at 00.00 seconds to advance. Can you get a perfect clear?

It's a puzzle/platformer built around a 10-second time limit with a minimalist/retro style. Basic mechanics relate back to the ten second cycle; dying with an item may move that item to a more opportune location, for example.

Coded in Javascript with library code from the VGDC at the University of Minnesota. Also used Paint.NET for sprites; GarageBand, FamiTracker, and Audacity for music; FontStruct.com for fonts.

Please play with audio! Controls are given in-game. [WALL-JUMPING: You have to jump before moving away from the wall.]

Also, based on a few playtests, this game might actually be really hard. If it is, I will include an easier version (as a post-compo thing, of course).

Oh, and if anyone unlocks Rave-Color Mode, I'd like to hear. I still can't get it consistently, so it should be a strong challenge. =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#286Audio3.00
#366Theme3.36
#483Overall3.13
#531Fun2.95
#556Graphics2.88
#593Mood2.68
#629Humor2.12
#744Innovation2.73

Comments

L says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

I couldn't clear the level in screenshot 2 - possibly because the wall-jump mechanics are a bit awkward.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23am

Dang...Yeah, it seems like they've been trickier than I thought. I figured they'd be easier to get the hang of, but people seem to have trouble. Thanks for letting me know!

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:28am

Good Game but where you must bounce from wall to wall is very hard and very difficult to pass.
It is also very peculiar. Which I like.
Pretty Good game! Just a Little Difficult in parts!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37am

The wall-jump is nice once you get the hang of it, however maybe if you let the player stick to the for a brief period of time (0.02s or something like that) then the problems should be easier.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39am

It is hard indeed, but hey, we need some hard games, lately games tend to be way too easy. I really like the level design above the other things. Really fun game.

Just one little detail, you pass a level when time reaches 0 and you are in the green area, it'd be better if you passed it the moment you enter the green area, there's no point in standing there until you run out of time.

JaR_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40am

I really liked this game - some super clever puzzles:) Thanks for making this.. best implementation of the theme I've seen so far

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03am

Thanks for the comments!

@Zephyr89 - Sticky wall jumping would be helpful, yeah, though unfortunately I think it would take some reworking of my engine code for some reason. It's pretty messy right now...

@Ludipe - I had thought about the level ending immediately when you reach the goal, but that has two problems: It isn't as in line with the theme (I think), and it disallows things like the first switch level where you can get pushed out of the goal area. Also, yes, hard is good. I just want to make sure that it's not so hard that no one can finish it.

shubshub says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16am

An Excellent game I had alot of fun :) Keep up the Grand work :) :) :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37am

The controls for wall jumping made me quit at the level were you "sometimes need to get backwards to get forward".
There wasn't any audio for me

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

No audio? What browser are you running?

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47am

Hard enough, I could not pass level from screenshot 2. "Stepping" on green area should stop the timer and switch to the next level. Still.. nice game!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49am

Yeah, the wall jump is very tricky. Sticking to the wall for a bit, as Zephyr said, would help a lot.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Holy crap, that was intense. Excellent game design. Only the wall jumping needs some more tweaking, especially when you jump on the same wall. Good job!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25am

@kirbytails7 I'm using the newest Firefox for Linux.

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04am

Even more annoying than N!
The wall jump was really irritating, but otherwise nicely done.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35am

I'm not very good at wall jumping so I gave up at the level in screenshot 1. I like the style and the music/sounds though - totally cool

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

@Rick Hoppmann - Huh. It works fine in Firefox on Windows, and it's supposed to be cross-platform...I guess there's something up with my engine code, then.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

Challenging control but the prospect of unlocking a mode with extra party will bring me back.

3beards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23am

The easier version was much more enjoyable ;).

Also, I felt like the keys should auto pick up.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32am

Really polished platform action with a cute minimal style. I was another one who found the wall jumps a little tricky, I think using space or a separate key to jump would've helped a lot, up to jump always seems to throw people. Aside from that it's all good, I really enjoyed it.

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32am

Nice little character animations.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

@3beards - Thanks! Automatic pick up, huh...I suppose that would be nice, yeah. I coded it so that keys could be used to press switches, but I never actually made any levels that require that.

@jay griffin - That's why I included multiple buttons for each control. There could just as well be space, though, yes.

@avh4 - Thanks!

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:26am

This was cool, my only gripe is the wall-jump mechanic.
On the Indie Game Movie the guys from SuperMeatBoy discuss their implementation, like .2 of a second sticking or something.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:29am

Nice platformer, the part where you have to wait after reaching the end is unnecessary though.

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

The death animation is pretty cool! Wall jumping is a little awkward, but once you get the hang of it you can manage. Really nice atmopshere also, you get a lot of mileage out of the really nice music to give the game this odd sense of dread.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

Really. Another timer-based platformer. Please try to make something more original next time.
I'm sorry for being so blunt, but I am getting pretty tired of these.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

@Twistedsnail - I don't remember that coming up in the movie...Guess I'll have to watch it again.

@Kragnir - The waiting is for theme and for some level design.

@mklee - Thanks! Glad you liked it.

@Zeppelin - I know. I'd like to think I did better than most of them. To be frank, I first had the idea for this a long time ago but never did anything with it, so when the theme came up I figured I'd just go with it.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

@Zeppelin (being defensive, whatever) - I would also point out that I've designed some puzzles around having the timer, rather than simply inserting the timer into a platformer. Obviously you're free to your opinion, but I should hope you won't dismiss my game or others simply because I went with the most apparent general idea (unless you're simply fed up with them, which is totally fine).

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Wall jumping was a little hard. Not sure why I needed to press a key to pick up the key. Is there a time in the game you wouldn't want to pick up the key? Nice simple little game :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

Really tight and fun controls!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

@Zer0Kelvin - I was originally going to design some levels where you'd need to drop a key on a switch for something, but...I forgot.

@nathan - Thanks!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:58am

good job

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice work this is fun! and the dying to move the key concept is great.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Okay, updating this. Last time, I was tired and playing on a bad computer, I'm very sorry for reviewing the game under those conditions.
I've replayed it, and I see now that it has a slight twist on the timer mechanic. I still stand by my original point though ;)
Most of the levels are quite entertaining and feels polished, but the one where it says "trust yourself" is just way too pixel-perfect jumping based. Your key levels are definitely the best.
Some neat audio as well!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:57am

@ZeppelinCaptain - No problem. Thanks for coming back! Your original point is valid, yeah.

I'll just say it here since the idea seemed more intuitive when I designed it but no one who's played it has "figured out" what I meant: To do the "Trust yourself" level, it's (supposed to be) easiest to move all the way to the right side on the second level, so that the tiny platforms are exactly a jump-distance apart.

If it's still too hard...well, shoot. I'll fix it in the easy mode version.

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:37am

This would be PERFECT with music and sound effects! congratulations! :D

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:30am

The wall jumps in the original was really hard to pull off but you mostly fixed that in the post compo.
It could still be better if the falling speed slows down more when you are on the wall.
One-wall jumping I found was either very successful or very unsuccessful depending on the key press rhythms.

I beat the post-compo but didn't seem to get the rave color mode... I think I just got the same starting page that let me start the same game again...

I still enjoyed the game though! The challenges kept me wanting to beat it all the way.
Great work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:29am

@Foxtacy - It has music and sound effects...What browser are you using? I've been having trouble with Firefox.

@theholychicken - There was slow falling at first, but...then it somehow got rid of itself. To unlock rave-color mode, you need to get a perfect clear, which is 3 deaths.

And thanks!

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Harder than expected.
There is no level restart! Got stuck on the third screen shot since I used the two keys for the lower doors and I had no way to go up for the keys above.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:32am

@urth - Yes, I realized that could happen a while after I submitted...It's only with that one level, but yes, that one should be fixed.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:47am

I got to the "trust yourself" level and gave up. It wasn't that it was hard, but it got really boring having to wait all the time. A restart button would be nice so that if you mess up early you don't have to sit around for the remainder of the time.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:06am

You did some really cool stuff with this. At first I was annoyed with having to play out the full 10 seconds every level, but then you threw in some levels that required perfect timing to hit the exit at the right time. The wall jumping was ridiculously difficult (something that you significantly improved in the post-compo version). I got all the way to the level with the T in the middle where I had to try to wall-jump up a single wall. At that point my fingers gave up. Great work.

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:22am

I like the concept, but it's rather difficult--not a bad thing, since "hard as fun" seems to be a game genre. The levels that are built for multiple lives are a nice touch.

The only problem I had was with the wall jumping (which seems to be a known issue), though the "easy" version did seem to fix some of the problems. I really think it's an issue of keyboard control, and a very narrow window where the wall jump is possible.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:34am

Thanks for all of the comments!

Next time I have wall jumping in a game, I will make it better!

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:34am

I enjoyed this game, the idea of moving objects before dying is really interesting, but the wall jumps are hard to perform. Anyway, that's a clever use of the theme, good job! :)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Great stuff! The levels introduce the mechanics nicely and are very well designed, though the movement is a bit tricky. I also love the audio!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]