August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Barricade

by AdamHarte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Robots are attacking, and they are after the mainframe.
Luckily there is a glitch in their programming which means they need to reboot every 10,000 milliseconds.
Use this to your advantage and keep them out at all costs.

I used Haxe on OpenFL and HaxeFlixel, Pyxel for graphics, DAME for the levels, and Bfxr for sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#41Fun3.81
#57Overall3.82
#61Graphics4.05
#87Theme3.79
#160Mood3.36
#199Audio3.20
#391Innovation3.19
#453Humor2.42

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

Very nice! Cool graphics, nice idea, nice sound. Very responsive controls.

justicegames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

Nice i like this game alot

Temich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39am

Such a nice game :>

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29am

Ok my hand really hurts now. Blasting the robots is fun and I love it when they explode, but I wish you could just hold down the keys to keep shooting.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

Nah, holding down keys to shoot would be a cop-out... the frantic key smashing is the best bit!

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

Nicely done! Everything is clean and tight and simple and feels good. It turns out that needing to reboot every 10 seconds is a heck of a weakness so the game itself wasn't very challenging.

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Overall: my newest favourite in the repertoir! So much awesomeness that I can't even summarize it!

Innovation: robots turn on and off in every 10 seconds...amazing!

Fun: a bit short, but levels are challanging - i could finish all of them with the same tactics, though. (camper-style) Couldn't stop playing it 'til the end.

Theme: instafive.

Graphics: great pixelart work with moderate details. The amount of particles (like robot collapse and projectile particles when hit) makes it 5/5.

Audio: great sound effects, now only some kind of fast actionful music is missing!

Humor: there's no humor. But who cares?!

Mood: You are teh protector!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Wow thanks for the responses people :D It is great to get this feedback.

@nicotuason & @mrspeaker
I did actually add "hold to keep firing" and it took the frantic, button bashing feeling away, so made the call to stick with how it is.

@netguy204
Did you get all the way through? I made the first levels easy so you can learn how it all works, but I feel it does get kinda challenging. Maybe I underestimated some Ludum Dare'iens gaming skills ;)

@Katamori
Thank you so much for your comments, and thanks for taking the time to give some great feedback. Always appreciated.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Responsive controls, feels good to play. Great graphics.

goyal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Great game. Finished it!

barcode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

Challenging and a lot of clicking. Neat idea. Fun

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

Love those robot gibs.
Addictive!

mysticstv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

Much fun - controls are very wonky

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

Fantastic! Simple and fun gameplay, and well executed.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:13am

The art and sound effects are good. Needs some pumping music, possibly with a more subdued version for when the enemies get deactivated. Not a fan of the button mashing weapon firing, though - definitely a repetitive strain issue which is a big dealbreaker for me. I would much rather be able to hold down a direction to fire, and it wouldn't compromise the gameplay at all.

The concept is pretty interesting but I think it could have been explored in more engaging ways - every level seems to play out the same: mash attack at choke points until the enemies are deactivated, then kill as many as you can before they reactivate and you resume mashing attack at the same choke point. Maybe if there were two kinds of enemies and when one was active the other would be deactivated would be more interesting. Anyways, it's got a certain charm to it but I really just can't get past the control scheme.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

I had fun playing this! The early levels were a bit trivial feeling, where you just stood at a chokepoint while the enemies were activated but later levels changed this up, thankfully. Once I perfected my "quickly alternate between left and right arrow" technique the enemies stood no chance!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35am

I haven't seen this combination of elements before, nice work!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:31am

A brilliant example of using the theme effectively. Excellent stuff!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39am

wow, very impressive!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:56am

The graphics and the way theme fits into the game are nice, but the shooting could really be improved by being able to hold the key down instead of having to press it every time. It would make the game more tactical.

Zuige says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:56am

Brilliant! I did quite enjoy this one. Love the rebooting idea. :) Made me want to get a turbo controller ;)

Jorqell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:45am

Incredibly good game, but killed my weak old hands in a couple of minutes. A shame really, I'd have enjoyed playing it more.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Very fun action game, pixel art and sound both fit very well! I like the shutdown effect! =D
Manage to finish with 61160 points, is that good? =)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very good!
So addictive gameplay with lovely draw pixelart!
Moment with enemy countdown make me smile =)

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

That was really fun, great use of the ten seconds mechanic. I'd love to see more weapons in there to spice up the gameplay.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Nice idea, nice game, nice graphics, nice effects....really love the game.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Really liked the confined feeling of the rooms. Would have enjoyed some kind of hard to use shot (like a "hold to charge" area-of-effect blast? melee? something) that left you vulnerable for a bit? And then many many more enemies. As it is I can just button-mash my way to victory and it doesn't feel as dangerous as I want it to be.

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Love it. Really enjoyed the high speed firing, the clutter of enemies and the particles. The WASD + Arrow keys movement / shooting system is something I hadn't seen done before, but I really liked it.

The graphics felt quirky in a good way, chunky pixels and cute little characters. The sound effects were fun. The use of the theme was really well done, an integral part of the game play and "story line".

It felt like an overall simple game but with a nice selection of levels. It was over before it got boring or gave me RSI which is probably for the best.

Nice work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Amazing art, love the animations. I found most levels I could complete by picking a spot and hammering the right arrow but when I forced myself not to it was a fun game!

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16am

Really cool game, but now my right arm is out of commission. Great work, the pixel art was fantastic!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:53am

Finally a game with perfect controls :D
Awesome graphics and I thought the levels were nicely balanced. Only thing that bugged once or twice was being unable to quickly differentiate between the alive creatures and the carcasses of the dead ones.

Sinuath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:53am

Really enjoyed it!

The only thing i'd suggest is changing the robots graphic so they look less like the mutant ninja turtles, made things a little confusing.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:07am

Quite nice game! I really enjoyed it! Please rate me back!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:04am

Destroying the robots feels really good and the whole powering up and down every 10 secs is a cool take on it : ) Good stuff!

Blizzil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19am

Awesome game! The graphics are nice and it is simple but fun to play.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Love the chunky pixels, and it was so satisfying blowing up the bad guys!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:13am

Screen shake! Particles! :)

A polished little entry with charm. There's something satisfying about wasting a whole bunch of robots in a line when they're sleeping.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

Cool, stuff.

Sort of a platformer + tower defensy game. Which is a cool idea.

I like that the particles have physics attached to them, and the screen shake is another nice effect.

Great work!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

Nice use of particles, it gives a serious mayhem side to the game.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Like the use of the theme and the overall feel of shooting things, nicely done!

lekochen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

Completed! Now I need physical therapy.

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:05am

Overall great game. The 10 second reboot (i think someone already mentioned this) is too big of a weakness...perhaps you shoul move slower or suffer some other side-effect of a sort during those 10 seconds too to make things more challenging?

PeaCe says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:24am

Great work! It gets repetitive after some levels but it's ok.

Orni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:44am

this is amazing
I mean - sideview shooters and retro graphics are always amazing, but this one is even better than that
loved it

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:40pm

The graphics and animations are great! The sound effects work really well too. The gameplay is fun, but gets repetitive pretty fast.

I'm missing music! If you can't make any yourself, http://abundant-music.com does the generating job pretty well - and GXSCC can make the resulting MIDIs sound pretty chiptune.

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:36am

this game is dynamic and fast, not so many of the games I've seen are.
great work!

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:24am

Neat game. I like the abundance of enemies and the particle effects when they die. It would have been nice if there were some powerups and different types of weapons and enemies. It also seemed near impossible to lose, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. My final score was 61140.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:37am

Awesome! Controls working very nice, really cool graphics, good mechanics :) for a 48 hour compo entry it's impressive.

Chinchilla says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:52am

Pew Pew Pew!! Die you froggy robot things! Good fun, though I do have RSI now. Would be great to have some area of effect weapons now and again, and to be able to hold down to shoot.

spitfire87 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:01am

Fingerpain! The concept is great and the execution is perfect for a 48h entry. Now it needs a bit more variety of enemies/weapons and more levels ! It looks promising.

Sestren says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:15am

The graphics are well done, and the on/off mechanic is kinda cool. Having to press the shoot button repeatedly got a little tedious, though. I think a little more variety in weaponry and enemies would go a long way toward making this an awesome game. I'd like to see a Post-Compo version, for sure!

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:35am

Very good game! I liked the smooth controls and the overall feel of the game. It's also nice how the two modes influence the gameplay. When the bots are active I tend to stay and fire as much as I can (my arm hurt), when they are inactive I'm pushed to travel the map in order to hunt them down.

Will definitively be checking updates on that one.

KristinnEs says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:41am

Great game :) The only fault I could find was that it would have been nice to be able to click and hold to keep firing instead of the clickfest.

Apart from that, this was one of my favorite entries :)

lesterpig says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice game, but controls are really... unusual. Pretty simple to stay and kill robots ;)

jujule says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very polished on all levels. Very slick. I like it.

graytest says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Love the graphics. Sound is good. Really wish I could hold the button down for shooting. Also wish the aiming worked a bit differently.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Really nice game, loved it. One of the best I've played! I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

iambored2006 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:58am

Awesome! Needs some balancing, but overall amazing!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:42pm

The idea of putting you through hell having robots apearing from every direction and then for 10 seconds pause the enemies is pure genius, I had a lot of fun with your game.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:48am

Good graphics

gravyhands says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:42am

I have massive carpal tunnel now.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:30am

Wow very good! I was a little put off by the firing controls but I got used to it eventually. Great job!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:33am

The 4 direction shooting makes it really difficult to hit bots on the middle steps, but considering the decision to use button mashing I guess there's no better way to do it(mouse mashing would have been terrible).
Gameplay is hectic and very awesome!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

Oh man, this is a LOT of fun to play. It rapidly descends into some pretty hilarious chaos with all that gunfire and robot limbs flying around. Small but perfectly formed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]