August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CLOUD CATS

by moonmagic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS : ARROWS, A, S

USE HEARTS TO CAPTURE FRIENDS!
DON'T BUMP INTO FRIENDS!
PUT FRIENDS IN THE CAVE OF MONSTERS AND YOU GET MONSTERS AND GEMS!

---

This is a one minute adventure for red cat and green cat. Journey to open the cave of monsters. In final game, form of monster to be decided by the accompaniment of FRIENDS. Green cat can capture friends with (A) key and red cat stops time with (S) key. Friends are color-coded for EASY DECISIONS.

To do:

- transitions between levels (lots of zooming and colors)
- graphics for end-game monsters (drawn, just not put in)
- graphics for gems (using the ghost graphic right now)
- friends will give you gems in an attempt to avoid capture
- scoring because that is the natural alchemical state of GEMS and all beings have the desire to turn into Score

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#123Audio3.40
#163Humor3.15
#253Fun3.32
#432Mood2.88
#446Graphics3.06
#548Overall3.06
#975Innovation2.35
#1102Theme2.31

Comments

wademcgillis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23am

MIGHT SOLVE A MYSTERY
OR REWRITE HISTORY
CLOUD CATS WO O

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30am

If a cat head shooting hearts is wrong then I don't want to be right! Simple and fun! Tip: hold down the 'S' key until your cat turns pink to perform a charge shot that will alter the path of enemies.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23am

I loved the audio, made me laugh so hard!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

I love the sounds :D

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very cute game!

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Awesomely strange ! I love it.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Fun and simple, and also trippy. The "stop-time" action confused me a little, since the friends seemed to keep moving, just in a circular way. Still, it was cute and very weird :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Really enjoyable, this is a good one. :D

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Not sure I understood what was going on for even one second and it was wonderful. Hilarious, awesome sound effects. Also, as weird as it sounds, nice to play a game with a small window. Reminds me of all the super old MS games.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Could have used a tutorial

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43am

this is really fun good job.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54am

Very nice audio! But this game need some in-game explanation to be fully understandable. I don't really found the theme.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13pm

That's awesome! Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Love the look of this with it's tiny window and also I love bullet hell games so this is exactly what I want to be playing!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Cute game, I liked the art and the enemy patterns, but the description of what A/S do and what actually happens don't make sense to me.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Lovely & Surreal :D
Charming sound effects.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:21pm

This is has such a charm! SUPER CUTE :3

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]