August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Sweeper

by JoeDev_net - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where you control 3 different ships and switch control between them every 10 seconds. Increasingly difficult enemy waves attack and your goal is to survive as long as possible.

Made with XNA and I am planning a Monogame port to Mac and Linux shortly. Also will try to get a Web version with JSIL up soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Fun3.64
#187Graphics3.58
#306Overall3.32
#310Theme3.42
#368Audio2.87
#630Mood2.63
#830Innovation2.60
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Cool game! Love the art.

Rialgar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Great game, someone try and beat my 156, I'll check back later to see if it still holds or if I need to improve it!

It would be nice if the upgrades where distinguishable.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Whoa, nice retro game ! Really enjoyed it.

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Couldn't run due to my (lack of) graphics card on my crappy laptop

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Thanks all!

@Rialgar - Yeah, the upgrades were added in the last 2 hours of the compo and I was a little rushed. I also made it to where they only effect your current ship (for the damage and fire rate), but perhaps it should have effected all 3. Glad you liked it and I'm sure someone will beat your score :)

@Skully I think I may have targeted the wrong XNA profile. I'll check and see.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I really enjoyed this! I had to play it a few times until I beat the high score (mine was 159). I was impressed that some nuances emerged as I played the game more (like how ship 1 seems more effective if I don't use auto-fire, and how ship 2 is the "safest" ship) Nice work!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31am

Got to a score of 91, I got greedy on a power up. Had I not done that, I would have been fine. Liked the game, and the three ships work well. Though, with the straight firing one, I spent a lot of time hiding at the top waiting for the area effects of the other ships.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Man, I haven't played an Arcade shooter in such a long time, awesome! Really good and fluid.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:09am

The game is not launching, no error message :/

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I loved the retro feeling, good job!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

:D

Erhune says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Nice little game. It does not suffer from the common mistakes on simple shmups (inertia, very solid enemies...), and plays quite well.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:13pm

This has such a classic vibe to it. Nice job!

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Those look like procedurally generated ships! Nice shooter, though it could do with more varied enemy behaviour.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]