August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MYHORIZON

by markengley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MYHORIZON

Created by Mark Engley in 48 hours by for Ludum Dare 27. August 25+26 2013.

Controls
Mouse aim.
Left mouse shoot.
Right mouse boost.
R restart
F fullscreen.
alt-f4 quit

Game produced in Unity 3D.
Sound effects created with sfxr http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
Music Created with otomata http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata

This was my first project in Unity. Many thanks to my fiancee Abbs.

@markengley

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#232Audio3.13
#307Graphics3.32
#310Innovation3.32
#323Mood3.05
#449Overall3.16
#476Fun3.00
#566Theme3.17

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54am

The orbital movement is great :)

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very nice background effect :)

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I really like the rewind feature @ 10 seconds. fun fun fun!

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06pm

This was wonderful :D

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Very psychedelic experience :) I like the visual style.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Fun game. I stayed in the middle by keeping RMB pressed and the cursor in the middle, shooting like wild. Seemed like a sound strategy... :)

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Nice physics, art and music :).

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Good game. Got 282 kills. Gets tricky if you're not paying attention to the attraction/repulsion timer. A series of auditory cues before flip would be nice!

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Simple graphics and mechanics, but the result feels really good. The rewind surprised me in a good way the first time. It's maybe a little too easy to go off the screen (too much thrust?), and the projectiles could benefit from a little more clarity. A more significant problem is that there doesn't seem to be much of a reason to fly around, rather than sitting in the center, or in a close orbit, and just shooting a ton.

Still, I had a good bit of fun with it :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Very atmospheric, great audio and music fits well. Nice take on the theme as well. I really like the psychedelic mode! It was very difficult to die though, I had to for the most part do it on purpose.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Great and unique concept! I love how the stray projectiles stay in orbit and continue to hit cubes. The 10 second inverse is very cool and helped make the game dynamic.
Do the power ups get higher than 3 projectiles? I couldn't survive long enough to get more..

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Great concept and good looking graphic ;)

markengley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Thanks for the plays and comments everyone - much appreciated :)

The power-ups don't give more than three shots but they keep making you shoot faster.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Nice game, good looking graphics but a bit confusing for me personally. I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Wow, that is such a cool concept, and implemented quite slickly too.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Very cool, had barely any idea what I was doing/supposed to do, but the game/ambiance was nice and enjoyable.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:55am

I love 2D space games in unity :) Really impressive mechanics (esp the gravity) for such a short amount of time. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]