August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gimme 10 secs, I gotta kill this horde

by Gear - Jam Entry

WASD to move
R to reload
Left click to fire

Made in 3 days for Ludum Dare 27 Jam.
Credits:
Gear
HumanPrototype
SoundJay
Flixel

You've got 10 seconds till your gun decides to glitch and change mods, better make the most of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#118Fun(Jam)3.37
#276Overall(Jam)3.15
#308Graphics(Jam)3.20
#360Humor(Jam)2.15
#363Theme(Jam)2.93
#381Mood(Jam)2.66
#430Audio(Jam)2.28
#550Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16am

Wow, very addictive and well done! Love the variety of weapons by the way. Brilliant work!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16am

Definitely fun to play, it was slightly annoying that guns didn't auto reload though, especially with the rocket launcher or mines. But still, fun to play, cool graphics so good job

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

Very nice game. Good job. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I enjoyed it has a good selection of weapons to play with!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The controls are great. Wish there was some music, it was too quiet. Otherwise, very good!

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Not bad! Simple but very effective... and rather addictive as well.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13am

Wow, it's like top down retro L4D crossed with Super Crate Box! Excellent work!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:59am

Fun gameplay and nice visuals. Somehow I always manage to click outside of the game area in these mouse based web games. But I guess thats just me ;) Good work!

Dew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice idea to change the weapon every 10 seconds when i read the title i thought it was about stayin on bed in the morning haha.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Good art, nice sound, solid gameplay.

Zap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Pretty neat little game.
I think the crates work really well to encourage accuracy so you don't accidentally destroy your cover.
Solid concept.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:04pm

i like the idea of getting new stuff every 10 seconds -- cool game

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice controls and graphics

Yaguar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Love the use of the theme, was not expecting it to be done like that at first glance. Addictive and fun!

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

fun little game :)
great work
loved the different weapons and top down shooters are always great
well done :)

Webravenz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Lots of fun, nice game !

rpmoura says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Loved the pixel art!

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Nice and fun! :)

The switching mechanic kept the game interesting. :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Nice little shooter. It could have been a bit faster to make it more frantic but a solid game otherwise. :)

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Liked the weapons variety and the big map and how the weapons would affect the environment.

The firing controls were a bit off in that the farther away your cursor was from the player, the faster that shots would travel, so it was usually advantageous to have your cursor far away (and thus increasing the chances that you'd click off of the game).

Makio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Nice pixel characters and animation. If there are more funny guns, it makes more attractive. :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Super 10 seconds Crate Box :)

lightsoda says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Pretty nice, seems like "switching things up" every 10 seconds is a running "theme" this LD ;)

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice game, loved the weapon mods. But didn't quite like the fact that the bullets just stopped where the cursor was :(
Had fun playing, though!

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:45am

I like the different weapons switching and the crates making the level change. Fun game!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Nice litle game, I yould have liked more shooting, however... ! :)

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Great game =)
SFX are only very basic, but the graphics are pixely-awesome.
There seems to be a minor glitch when the weapon switches, you can actually shoot two rockets before the first reload, but the different types of weapons are really cool! (P.S. I love destructible terrain^^)

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Very "Super Crate Box" this ^_^ not terribly innovative but it's a lot of fun to play, and the weapon changes every 10 seconds keep it fresh and keep you thinking on your feet. Good job fellas :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]