August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Royal Dogs

by Corné Dorrestijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The royal dogs is a game about dogfighters. You have 10 seconds the time to do more damage to your enemy.

-- Controls: --
Control the plane's direction using left and right and control the speed using up and down. You can shoot with the space bar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Graphics3.42
#660Audio2.35
#778Innovation2.68
#832Fun2.59
#848Mood2.33
#851Theme2.82
#915Overall2.67
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

Some kind of tutorial or explanation needed. But: it's cool even without tutorials.

targaciej says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Hard as hell :D

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

I see, arrow keys to steer, spacebar to shoot. The background art is very nice. Wish it lasted for more than 10 seconds. I also made a game about dogfighting :p

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice. Reminds me of Asteroids :P

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Really nice art and gameplay mechanics, rated this one highly. :)

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Really hard but still cool!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:13pm

The game mechanics is pretty good. Took me a minute to figure out the controls though (and I also found the debug button :D)

cwkx says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Great little entry, fun to play with nice graphics and audio!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Thanks for all your replies. I must have forgot to add the controls to some info :P. I was in quite a rush to finish it. Had to get up early and it was already late. I'll add them to the entry.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

It already was in the entry, but even I didn't read them when i scrolled trough them, so added a little title.

Zap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Neat little game, though I never managed to win. Could be cool to make the bullets have more of an effect on impact- explosion, louder sound, camera shake, or whatever- so it's clearer that you've managed to hit the enemy.
I like the crisp, simple art style :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:14pm

A good game ,but if you press up and L/R at the same time as holding space it's quite easy to win. Otherwise the lack of info frustrated me.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Very nice graphics and concept. But I think it would be better if the view is zoomed out.

(just found that pressind D some debug info is shown on the screen)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

<<< ^_^ Russian Alien watching you!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]