August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Traffic Manager

by keksdev - Jam Entry

Take care of the city's traffic! If any driver waits more than 10 seconds, you lose!

- Click on a crossing to switch the traffic lights
- Complete 3 different levels
- Beat your highscore

Team:
Christoph, Dirk and Rico (Programming)
Timo (Graphics)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Innovation(Jam)4.07
#230Overall(Jam)3.24
#306Fun(Jam)2.90
#418Mood(Jam)2.54
#427Audio(Jam)2.31
#442Humor(Jam)1.77
#468Theme(Jam)2.68
#498Graphics(Jam)2.52
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Animated says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Nice idea but one level glitched on me and a car kept warping back to an intersection

jihop says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Very cool idea. I kind of wish the cars moved faster? It bogs me a little that the traffic is so slow. (maybe that is the point)?

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

This can get really hectic! It's a little buggy, but it's got potential.

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Very good and addictive game

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Great idea! As someone said before, maybe the cars could have move a little faster...

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

Nice idea, but gets very fast difficult.
I think such a game is hard to balance. Longer distances between the intersections would make it easier to plan. I am not sure if the 10 second limit is even needed since the traffic automatically ques up when you don't do it right.
It runs very good on my android tablet

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

Ha, lovely. I remember playing something similar around 2000, rarely see those games again. Also props for making an android-build!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:57am

How to fix sim city in 3 simple steps :D

wine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:59am

Hah, I'm hardly a good traffic manager ) Nice work!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:28am

kinda difficult at times.

honk honk!

michail says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice game! Reminds me another traffic sim from previous LD - 'Mind the gap'. I like this kind of games.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

Great game with lots of potential!

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I don't see what this has to do with the theme.

That being said, I really like the idea here. I would definitely play a full version of this game. Some polish would be nice, and there were a few buggy interactions (being the nice guy I am I tried to cause large accidents, cars just drove over top of each other!)

Nice work though. 4/5.

van noctar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Good idea, but the collisions between two cars not exist...

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:10pm

cool idea, good job!

Oana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I beat level 3! I really had fun with this entry, nice job overall. The sounds however were really annoying, but they really helped notice if jams were happening.

bitserum says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Really cool idea. Also the sound effects really creates that panic mode. You could really work on this with few intro levels. It gets hard pretty quick.
Very good job.

Thermite says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Nice idea, I couldn't tell immediately how the cars picked their route, made it a bit challenging :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Good that our trafic lights are now automatic!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:43am

A very cool idea, well done :)

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Clever idea, fun gameplay.
Level 2 should be level 3 with a easier level 2 to make difficult curve smoother.
Good job.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I tried making a traffic sim with some friends when I was in college so I probably enjoyed this more than I should lol. Interesting concept controlling the traffic lights good LD guys! I love the game over sounds :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]