August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coach Champ

by Erifdex - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"It's the night of the cup final. As the manager of the home side, it is your duty to lead your team to victory. But with kick-off approaching... you only have 10 seconds to prepare a speech!"

Put random phrases together in the hope that your wise choice of words will lead your team to victory!

Made with Haxe/OpenFL and HaxePunk. Also featuring the Actuate tweening library.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#7Humor4.24
#178Innovation3.56
#193Theme3.58
#319Fun3.23
#459Overall3.15
#566Audio2.53
#650Mood2.60
#769Graphics2.55

Comments

shard123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17am

A funny and fun game! I'm curious what the criteria for a good speech is though

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

Ha, this is great. I love how it went "What a great speech!" despite it clearly being not so :P

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19am

250% of humor!)) Great job!)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

THE HUMOR. a 10 second mad-lib is quite a clever idea!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Haha, really funny a ridiculous. Good job!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

ok,guys fight everyone - like - america.. america
: <

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Haha that's a novel game - not what I was expecting at all and happily surprised!

Sup, America eat ladies.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Wow! great idea! I'm not sure I get what really affects the result, but I enjoyed the game a lot, and really wouldd like to play an extended version

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Hahaha xD
The character design was perfect with my speech.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Ah, amazing! Really hilarious regardless of winning or losing!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

'Sup top notch cats.. uhm dogs er . weather? >_<
Wish there was a 6th star in humor!! :D

Erifdex says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Thanks everyone for the great comments!

shard123 and Pierrec - My original idea was to create some kind of rating for each word, and then find the average (or something along those lines), but unfortunately, due to (cough) time constraints (cough - laziness), I couldn't get it done. Right now it's just random. But the original idea is definitely on my to-do list for a post compo version!

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48pm

You're definitely will win the humor contest, nice job.

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Pretty great! I wish there was a way to hear the speech, or maybe tweet my final speech.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Hilarius! Good job on the humor, one hell of a good job :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Quite funny, well done! ;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08pm

HAHAHAHAH I can't stop laughing!!! AWESOME GAME

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Kind of like a weird madlib. Would be even more fun if there was more feedback about what works and what doesn't.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Funny game, good use of the theme, however you could win by spamming words without looking at them.

Meep says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19am

Fun and hilarious game! Great work :D

raver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

And the winner in humor category is... Coach Champ, definitely :).

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

brilliant. wish that was my coach!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Played it a few times and always lost 6-0 :c Is there a way to win? Really cool idea, was fun.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:20am

"Listen Up, Ladies score everyone win fellas fight"
That's a winning speech.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I love the concept. Would like to see this fleshed out more. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]