August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Last Second Hero

by ghostonline - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is controlled using the arrow keys. When stuck, press 'R' to detonate the bomb prematurely and restart the level. Note that time only runs while you move, so you can take your time in solving the puzzles.

In this game you play as an unfortunate bomb disposal robot. You are tasked to safely dispose of a few bombs in a local industrial complex. However, for some reason your breaks have started to malfunction, so you are only able to accelerate and rely on your surroundings to slow down (by blindingly smash into it). On top of that, each bomb has only 10 seconds left until detonation. This really just is not your day.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Overall3.71
#136Fun3.52
#263Graphics3.41
#281Theme3.46
#292Mood3.09
#574Innovation2.93
#602Audio2.46
#798Humor1.84
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56am

cool game, I couldn't figure out level 9

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

I like how it gives me infinite time to think :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

I like it! It reminds me some levels of the pokemon ruby in the last gym hehe. Nice idea for the theme!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

Very nice. Reminds me of the board game Ricochet Robot. I completed the game, it's quite challenging but not too hard. I like what you did with the additional elements, and that everything was mostly self-explanatory. Good job. :)

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

Great, but boring.

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

Lovely game! The later levels felt easier than the first levels, actually.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08am

Good : Nice little puzzle game. Nice graphics and transitions.
Bad : Levels are a bit simple. The "R" button doesn't work on Opera/Mac

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57am

Hello! The game is very well done. It feels finished, the minimalistic pixel art has that retro vibe and the sounds compliment it nicely. I love the attention you've given to detail with the moving bomb eyes and the small particle effects together with screen shaking. It gives the robot impact a really nice feel to it.

Not being an avid puzzle player i find the levels challenging enough to be interesting too :)

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

I like when games made me thing. I feel very clever at the end. Good job :D

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I like it! Some levels are hard!

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

Nice use of theme in solving the puzzle. I was also trying something similar at first but it never occurred to me not to count time when you are not moving. Thats a good strategy!

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43am

Very nice logic game mod. Sound in +. Well done levels.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08am

Good job! Love the puzzles and gameplay.
9-th was most hard for me. But I enjoyed with it =)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Nice work man! Finished it and thought it was great. Nice minimalistic style, simple puzzles and enough different features to keep even the short 11 levels interesting. Very solid entry!

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Great challenging, wish it could have been a little longer, it looked like at the last few levels you were just beginning to add in new elements and things :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Cool puzzle game... did it to level 5. Like it very much. Thanks for submitting

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:02am

Fun. Very polished puzzle game.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:40am

Awesome puzzle game! Definitely a great take on classic mechanics!
Art is just as much as needed, robot acceleration is fun to watch.
Great job!

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Great puzzle game! Reminded me of "Fling". You should release it for mobile! :)
But it's true that the last levels are actually easier than the first ones.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]