August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Germification

by DeanoC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is a variant of Conway’s Game of Life, where you can try and win victory for your germs (the pinky/purple dudes). Its a turn based game, where you can move your units (Queen, Farmer and Slimer) around via mouse (click on the unit and then where you want to go), Queens and Farmers can settle down and then breed germs and try to influence the rules of Game of Life. Queens breed 8 purple germs, whereas farms breed some red, green or blue germs (for food).

Every 10 seconds a breed cycle occurs, whereas the board evolves every second.

That is pretty much all there is to it, but its quite hypnotic and damn hard to win (there is no formal win condition, just controlling most of the board).

I pretty much sure that no-one will know how to play it, its more of a Game Of Life Toy than a game but anyway its done and submitted!

A quick summary I did for a friend was pretty much

“You start with a queen, settle her down (click on her and menu will appear to the right) when she has enough food, breed farmers or slimers or another queen see if you can make it more purple than red, green or blue”

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

DY says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Oh man, i remember when i first time read about GoL. I made simple program and watch how everything change for hours. I've tested a lot of optional rules for that. Damn, that was magic.

Hexicube says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Game looks good but I am unable to press play, it's off the bottom of my screen and the buttons ignore scrolling and act like they're where they used to be.

Ice says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I could not figure out what to do =X

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Not really sure how to play :)

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:26am

A bit confusing, but I love the idea!

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

I don't understand how it works or what my choices do, but it's fun to watch!

Danex317 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Interesting idea. Hard to play though. I was only able to make a few slimers.

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

The game of life is kind of relentless--regardless of your input, life goes on! :)

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:45pm

game of life is always fun, not sure what to do here :)

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:00pm

interesting. Could do with a few more stages of graphical change, so that the RGB germs dont jump around so much, and perhaps more magnifications so you can see the patterns occurring around your "base". was fun!

kratorspore says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Interesting idea. Could definitely do with more development.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]