August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boyfriend Simulator: Feed My Boyfriend

by leafo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of a very hungry boyfriend in "Boyfriend Simulator: Feed My Boyfriend"

High octane game play involving alternating mini games and a handful of upgrades. Also includes some kick'n tunes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#29Humor3.95
#52Audio3.63
#68Fun3.69
#74Overall3.75
#80Graphics3.95
#148Innovation3.63
#150Mood3.39
#260Theme3.48

Comments

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28am

I am ERROROUS (broken link)

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

erm woops, sorry. added windows build too

JQCoding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

Fun game, neat little concept. Hated the them so good job with it. Nice looking graphics too. A little hard to tell who is who at the beginning though.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46am

Liked it a lot. Great concept and amazed this was made in 48 hours. Awesome.

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03am

Love the graphics style and the gameplay :D

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23am

i <3 it

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26am

Great job leafo!

I wish there was some indication that your "boytoy"'s food prefrence changes, and maybe some way to hover over the upgrades section, so you can see what they do before you select them.

Fantastic job!

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34am

Loved the graphics/humour. I agree it was a but hard to tell which one you were at the start, but it wasn't too hard to figure out. I liked the mix of minigames.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

Interesting idea, enjoyed the execution. Nice music too! (on a side note, thanks for Moonscript because it is the main reason I was able to complete my first LD48)

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

What a great game. It's fun as hell, the graphics superb and the audio is really, really good. I'll go with the others: Fantastic job!

nikneym says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14am

Good graphics, very funny game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Pretty confusing at first, but when you get used to it, this is fun :)
I love the music!

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

that game is awesome D:
I have nothing more to say I think

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Very good idea, and well implemented. The humor is also great.

One of the best I played today, certainly!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Awesome arcade game! :D

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I think this guy should get his own food. All he does is puke and sit around. This is a weird game concept, and very well put together. Sounds and music goes well with the graphics and gameplay.Very nice job.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Very polished game, graphics are audio are great. Nicely done.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Pretty original idea, I enjoyed it! I found it extremely difficult though... maybe I'm just horrible at this game, haha.

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12am

Pretty impressive, awesome presentation! The mall part needs more challenge but overall this is great.

Wulo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

The mall part is a little bit to easy, but rest of the game is really awesome.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55am

I laughed so hard,
I fed the tard,
in the end he's gotten even fatter~

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39am

hahaha perfect

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

funny as hell!

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

This game is amazing! I think you did a great job fitting all of these features in in 48 hours. It's super polished and really funny!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

I like the graphics, max for humor and fun though! Good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18am

Fed! A good bit of challenge wrapped up in a funny plot :0)

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

Cool idea,would love to see it playable on web tho,but I really liked it.

bsinky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54am

Wonderful idea, really nailed the theme! Graphics are beautiful, game is humorous, but as said before, in the mall it is difficult to see the player at first. Overall, fantastic.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04am

Really funny art. I liked the baseball bat element.

alts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22am

Really great game. Also rather hard. I ended up waiting during the feeding stage until the very end, and would just feed one item. Maybe not the best strategy, but the satisfaction level decreases so fast that it's not worth wasting food earlier. Fantastic music.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37am

EEEEEEH funny! The curled moustache brought disturbing to a whole new level..

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09am

I love this game, best entry so far. GJ!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08am

Very entertaining and nice graphics!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27am

Nice game. But it was difficult in the beginning to know who i was.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:07am

Overall good game

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24am

Nice job! i had a fun time playing this :D

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58am

Great little game - fun and funny.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:39am

This is a pretty cool little game! I enjoyed it loads and I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

Headless Hobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Fun game and awesome concept

nSun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Your boyfriend is so ugly... What do you find him? You deserve better.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I'm not rating right now, because I can't throw the food with 1, 2 and 3. I'm not sure why, maybe it's a problem with my computer, since I use multiple keyboard layouts (but I'm sure I start the game after having switched to qwerty...).

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Wow, AMAZING for 48 hours! :O

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

The graphics arnet the best but the game play is excellent good work!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Great game, very funny

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Now I'm hungry.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Haha, loving the novel theme! The graphics were awesome! But just found I had nothing to do if I never reached a store in 10 seconds(blame my pro skills :P)
Great job on this!

Gabriel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

This got me laughing! It really reminds Wario Ware (which is great)!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Awesome, love the game.

Your boyfriend looks like the guy from League of Gentlemen! Sexy http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/images/clip/p006vm6j_640_360.jpg

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Heheh, funny. Pretty polished overall, good graphics and music. Nice job!

CmdBrewsky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Really funny game, i like the concept and the music. The graphics are also really great. good job guys!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46pm

this game is wild, i love it

voltorben says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

holy crap! What a weird game! Loved it :D
Really liked the graphics and the audio. Really well polished. And the game mechanics were good too.
I think you are thrown a little fast into it, but i guess you'll get the hang of it after the first try.
Great entry!

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01pm

haha, this is awesome. great work leafo!

char68 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Really enjoyed this! I'm not sure how it would feel were I to play this game until I had all the upgrades, but I grabbed maybe 6 or 7 and had a lot of fun while doing so. The absurdity was awesome, controls felt great too (although bumping into people was SUPER frustrating, i'm sure it was intentional). I'm looking forward to seeing more of this style of game in future LDs :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I had to force myself to stop playing once I realized how much time had slipped away. It is just too great and addicting!

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I really enjoyed it, although all those stupid people in the mall kept getting in my way :p

Great little game, although the instructions on the second portion of the game were worded a little confusingly.

Otherwise great game visually, musically and gameplay wise too as it was different :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Well done! Very Addictive :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Lol great job, VERY original!

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Oooooh very good! For maximum brain stimulation I suggest playing this one before Boyfriend Simulator: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=25127

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

This is a kooky, nutty game. Great job! That music is great too.

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10am

Really fun core loop and once I figured out the knocking food with the bat that part was pretty fun. It took me several tries to figure it out, though. Even though there are text instructions, when under time pressure you forget everything x_x Good job!

23 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:56pm

The graphics and music were really polished and the concept was good, but it felt really unfair when I failed. Sometimes all three stores would be closed, and the delay for switching to a different food when feeding felt like too much. Did enjoy it though!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Well that was hilarious and strange! Once I figured out what was going on, I really enjoyed batting food into his maw. I found the shopping segment a bit more frustrating, what with all the people in my way and the shops randomly closing! But it was a pretty fun game overall.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Very good entry! Awesome graphics, good gameplay and original idea!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Finally got every upgrade. The Satisfaction-Meter drained to fast in later levels, so it isn't worth batting anything in his mouth except towards the end (maybe make the player lose if he doesn't feed him anything for, say 4 seconds)(also I'm not sure, what the actual lose condition is). At first maxing Fiber and Bartering is important, to maximize the money output. I had like 700$ all the time. I really liked how when you max Organisation that you can bat multiple food items at him at once, which balanced it again a little bit.
In the end, I guess I spend more time on this than I should have... and I guess this is a good thing :D

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Hahaha, always great to play a game that includes huge disembodied heads! Had a blast! Great job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:29pm

fun and hard. i would suck at having a boyfriend :D

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Really nice pixel art style, love the look of it especially when I bump with ones in the mall. Congrats on nice work!

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:07am

Funny game, great concept

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

Can't...stop....playinnggg...! Super complete game for 48hrs! Nice work! Graphics are sweet!

Norgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Brilliant. My thoughts as I played through this:

"Why won't it ever stop?"
"Oh, because life. :("

Tactics for later rounds: wait until the last second and then stuff as much food in at once as possible.

Alternative tactic: just keep your money for yourself and ignore him.

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Love the alternating minigame style. It has a really good pace to it. The pixelart is fantastic, but that head is nightmare fuel! :D

EpaceGames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Fantastic! 5/5. I love the upgrades. A lot of wonderful work in such a short period of time.

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Very funny and creative + nice execution!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:21am

Nice and polished game! Addicting as hell too. Great job!

jujule says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I loved the mini-game approach. Really polished entry. Fantastic !

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:58am

Very nice and polished. Funny.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:15am

Great graphics and sound and a great idea. Bit frustrating at times but I think that's partly due to the time constraints

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Fat humour aside (I find it hurtful, since there's nothing wrong with being fat), this was very fun! 5stars

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:58pm

What a great concept xD
I really like how varied the gameplay is! And it even has upgrades!

Very nice work! Keep expanding upon this game! :D

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Weird game, but well done.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Equal parts bizarre and awesome. Great fun to play and the music is addictive!

headchant says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:47pm

That's a lot of vomit. (great game!)

cappelnord says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:48pm

ha, excellent!

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:34pm

The game was okay, but the boyfriend looks weird :P

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Neat game. In the later levels it seemed like the satisfaction rating went down so fast that feeding really didn't make a difference. It also would have been nice to have descriptions on the upgrade screen (before purchase). My final score: Earned 627; fed 61 times; lasted 19 rounds

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Very well polished game. The pixel art is charming. The theme is well executed to switch between the two mini games. Love the little oddities, like the boyfriends mouth and eyes movement. Enjoyed this one!

GreyShock says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Hahaha very funny! Great job!

kristof says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:43am

Very funny and well executed game! Great work!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

Lasted 14 rounds! Nice work! Great sounds, solid visuals, original concept! 9/10. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]