Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Lonely Sentry - namrog84 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Lonely Sentry: 10 Seconds of Love


The Sentry requires love fuel to power its rockets.
Sadly The Sentry can only find small capsules that provide 10 seconds of fuel.

Help the Sentry find the Grand Heart and have unlimited fuel to find his lost friends!


Controls are WAD or Arrow keys

Press R to restart if you die or get stuck
In executable jar, you can maximize window too! Far better performance than html5 port!


Poorly made video of the game start to finish(Its very laggy though :(
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDwuRicJ3-M

Thanks Everyone! I hope you enjoy!
Adam "namrog84" Gorman

Made with LibGDX, Paint.net, bfxr, tone matrix, Incredibox, and ???


NOTE: If you use the html5 version(Which I don't recommend) and you can't reach the top of the map(that says "FLY UP")(run out of fuel) The issue is lag, you should be using the executable jar version of the game, of the 10 computers and friends have tested, there is usually 3 seconds of fuel left. However if your computer is running laggy or low frame rates(due to streaming/video recording) you will likely at best make it there with -1 fuel(e.g. you won't make it there)

View namrog84's journal. | View all entries by namrog84

Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Fun3.47
#188Overall3.48
#261Audio3.06
#276Mood3.12
#286Humor2.76
#306Theme3.43
#512Graphics2.95
#647Innovation2.83

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Nice game. Good, responsive controls, well laid out levels.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Very cute game. Solid mechanics! I encountered an audio glitch where the "thrusting" noise looped forever once I passed a certain level.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

I love how the fuel is measured in time.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

That moving spikes totally hypnotized me :D
Simple but definitely playable!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

Cute game. Good controls. "Right difficulty" on the levels. I had the same infinite thruster glitch, but great job. I liked the cute little ending too.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

D'awwwwww. :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

The layout of all the levels are simply fantastic. The art style is a nice touch, the sound is masterfully used. Cute entry, nicely done!

xel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Successfully collected all the love fuel! Fun game- and the music played at the end is pretty catchy.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

This is definitely my favorite game so far. I loved the death effect, I liked the weird text, I liked the controls. Overall, well done.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

So cute especially the ending! Nice effects and graphics. Kinda difficult yet it's still possible.

disease says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Great game, fun and cute with solid responsive controls. The web version played fine for me. Only wish it was a little bit longer and more challenging.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05am

Made of love from internet cats, I got the big heart and can now fly forever ;) Interesting gameplay, very responsive controls. Love the levels with dead-end. Great work :)

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11am

Nice use of theme. Great level design. Would have liked to see more than just spikes to avoid.

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26am

Nice!

Not too easy, not too hard.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01am

Great! That was the most gore pixel death scene I've ever seen.

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

Cool game dun as well

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Very smooth player movement!

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04am

Cool i had fun but the spikes i dont like and why are they animated ??

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Very good take on the 10s theme, and fun =D

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

So let me get this straight: The sentry has a jetpack like thing, powered by burning love, and all the love it needs is readily available in small heart-shaped packets lying around? Yep, I guess that's a thing now. Anyway:

Looks cool and plays well! The difficulty curve is nice: It starts out really easy and gets infuriatingly hard when you have to hover.

Now that I listen to the music consciously, it's a really short loop, right? It should get annoying, but oddly, it doesn't - it sets a nice mood instead. The sound effects work well too.

I'm not sure why the levels are all "Go for it!!" and the last level is like "NO GO BACK PLEASE", haha :D

All in all, pretty solid! Good job!

PS: Na-na-na-naaa. Na-na-na-naaa ~ (I like the end song!)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

yeah the music for the gameplay, was made using http://tonematrix.audiotool.com/
Then I did some slightly audio editing, like I slowed it down 150% and did some other minor tweaks to make it seem more sad/ambient

The difficulty curve is odd, because some people find the game very hard and others find it easy. So its hard to find a solid balance.

There is a rare audio glitch with the jetpack I am aware of. Although I know LD supports 'bug fixing' I personally don't feel like any changes should be made post submission, unless its game breaking.

I am a bit disappointed with graphics of spikes, but I had limited time and energy and was just so burnt out. I had wanted to add some more things along the way. more levels, more bad guys. But thats LD for you. Limited time to do things. Though I am sure next one will be better! I get better at this stuff all of the time!

Drabiter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Nice concept, I like it!

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Cool ending and now I know about Incredibox! Clever spike animation for the collision detection I'm presuming but I see why you don't like them.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice work-- I didn't really understand what I was searching for hearts until the "THE END" screen--maybe include a bit more backstory about the sentrys. But very fun to play!

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

Oh! Pretty cool concept! I really enjoyed the level design and gotta say that the controls are very smooth.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11am

Short and sweet :)

Love the sound, graphics are so-so but not jarring - like the exhaust effect in particular though, and the way the sentry moved gave it a real sense of weight so that's pretty well done. Plus, the ending was very cute.

Also, great controls - just the right amount of accelleration, inertia and stuff to not be frustrating, but still challenging to control. As far as "lander" type games go, that's pretty hard to get right in my experience, so great job there!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I reallly like it. Very positive mood. "Love fuel" hehe. The particles effect are great and the controls are smooth (enough). And as many already mentioned, the level design leaves nothing to be desired. Good work! :)

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice graphics. Different type of gameplay and a bit tough at times.

stenol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Nice game. Great work !

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04pm

good job

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I like the idea and the fire animation. Feels like a real rocket!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very solid and good game. I played it with pleasure. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Reminds me good old lunar lander game :-)

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I like it, just the perfect level of difficulty, I couldn't get to the end cuz I kept exploding vs spikes, but it was cool :P

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:26am

Haha, that end music <3
Great gameplay!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09am

Really nicely designed and polished, this one. The controls feel just right, which makes playing through it a real pleasure. Excellent stuff.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

great game, and really fun to play! it felt like he fell a little too fast and like to make friends with spikes... but everything was forgiven when he exploded in rainbow particles

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

I had loads of fun with this one, good tight controls and tricky level layout. Awesome stuff! :)

donfabio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

This game was really fun. Played it through and liked the ending. :)
Also nice particles effects but the collision detection is rather unforgiving. ;)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

Charming game, great controls too. :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I really enjoyed that game! Awesome sound and graphic effects!
It seems that i found the bug - when you flying and pressing Restart, sound of fuel can loop and play himself infinity amount of times.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Really beautiful well designed polished game here. The sounds are really nice.. I like the dying animation effect too.. nice work, rated highly. :)

Delca says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

The controls were good, and I liked the way the player dies (are the particles the love fuel left in the sentry ?).
SPOILER AHEAD : there is a very simple way to complete the last but one level. Was it intentional ?
Anywa,I would loved to see this extended with more levels and mechanics. Good job!

mollymus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Looks simple but its really quite fun! :) Couldnt stop until I'd completed it!:)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

Very well made difficulty curve!

Reicher says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

Nice, solid game!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Good solid level design, atmospheric sounds and nicely responsive controls. I enjoyed playing this.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

That was fun! Nicely designed levels, liked the music at the end.

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Fun concept. Not the most innovative I've ever come across, but enjoyable. Sort of cute in a way. Good entry.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice, clean graphics, great level design. Love the particle explosion when you die.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Not really inovativ but well balanced, good control (and nice sound design)

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I liked it, it was pretty fun and interesting. The music was lovely, kind of calming and soothing.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Nice idea, the gameplay was really good.

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:57am

Nice game, great level design and a calm and sad music loop that was perfect to the game.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Great idea! Nice sound!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice game mechanic. Well designed levels and solid controls. Nice entry :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I beat your game cause I'm the best
that ending music beats all the rest
acapella is always great
and so are the rocket physics
the art is also nice
as is the blood in gore bursting from the spikes.

Mironix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Awesome entry. Simple but fun to play mechanics. Hard enought but not to hard. Enjoyed whole playthrough. Good job!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:01am

Short, controlled well, and pretty fun. Good job for 48hrs!

Erigitic says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:36am

Great game. Good controls, great levels, and overall a fun game. I love the way you implemented the 10 Second theme. Great job.

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Nice concept and level design.

I like the way the character explodes when you die.
Nice job!

Connors says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:34am

Awww yes the graphics and music are well done, so kudos for that. Quite pleasant to listen to if you don't have the thrusting sound glitch.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:35am

Yes another game that kinda reminds me of Commodore 64 games!

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:54pm

A good amount of absurdity in this game! The controls are great. I like text inside the world. Awesome entry.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Really cool game, not to pressured yet not too slow. The music and art really sets a nice mood.

I was a bit sh*t at it at first truth be told though. :D

Really good job.

zanval says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Physics were a challenge. It was very frustrating to learn how to "hover". But in total the game was enjoyable and I finished it. Was definetely fun!

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:05am

Nice! Cute story :)

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:01pm

I had to mute the game halfway through because the jetpack sound was stuck on a loop.

Nice work with the game!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:25pm

The music made it extra lonely! :(

DaVince says ...
Nov 15, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Pretty cool! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]