August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Castle Escape

by naufr4g0 - Jam Entry

You are a brave knight. You have just found a treasure in an abandoned castle. Unfortunately the owner of the castle doesn't want you take his gold. In addition, he wants to do with you a strange deadly game. You only have 10 seconds to pass through a room, before the floor collapses under your feet.
Can you get out from the castle alive?
_______________

Controls:

Play with Arrow Keys (or WASD) and ENTER.

_______________

Credits:
Music & sfx: Werto
Title Screen: Skab Graphix
_______________

UPDATE: The post-jam version is basically the same, except for a better preloader, a second game ending (really hard to achieve) and some bug fixes. Rooms are the same as before.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#58Audio(Jam)3.67
#63Theme(Jam)3.65
#96Overall(Jam)3.55
#134Humor(Jam)3.02
#168Fun(Jam)3.24
#208Graphics(Jam)3.59
#214Innovation(Jam)3.15
#214Mood(Jam)3.13

Comments

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28am

It's likely that I'm just terrible, but this seems really hard!
Runs smoothly and the graphics and music are very pleasant, good game!

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

a very difficult game!
but, as usual, i love the visuals of your games, the pixel art and the choice of colours.
the song is also great!

DanteZack93 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Really great graphics,as always, and nice interpretation :)

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53pm

This is really well made and hardcore. :)

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Awesome entry, I finally managed to escaped the castle. It's really hard, and some rooms are impossible (even without the gold). I like that you leave the player a conscious decision whatever to take the gold or not.
PS: You don't seem to check if the player took the gold or not at the end, because through a bug I was able to get the gold and don't get slowed by it, then I escaped and I still got the same ending like without the gold.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

@klianc09: that's interesting!! What bug allowed you to finish the game with the gold? The game is not supposed to be completed with gold, cause some levels need too much time to go through (other not). I'm working on a post-jam version and I want to fix all bugs. :) Thanks for the report and congratulations for winning!

Markavian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Fiendish. A lot of those rooms are impossible to get out of. I think my best chain was 5. The East-West even number spear rooms were my biggest problem.

@naufr4g0 @klianc09 There is a bug where when you restart sometimes it says "You took the gold" but it doesn't slow you down.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Very cool. A great solid entry :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

@Markavian: I solved some bugs in the post-jam release. Difficulty anyway is the same, and I hope you reach the end of the game. :)

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:22am

Very fun but so hardcore.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Graphics and music were fantastic! Some rooms seemed to be completely impossible though. But I had a lot of fun trying to escape them!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12pm

i'm amazed by how many rooms you created, but i could only beat a few of them cause this game is really hard! but also fun and challenging!

RobDangerous says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Very hard. And very excellent.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Great game. Nice graphics, great sounds, nice gameplay, very hard indeed. The time trial theme could be better engaged in game design, but its a well done time trial.
But really, its impossible try carry the gold (ok whit that) and the fucking room whit spears come out of the walls its unfair, i die every time just for crossing the door and BAM spear in my ass. I think you need put a cooldown for the player could understand where the hell he was before a spear get him. ahahhaah
but really fun game =)

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

@fgielow: haahahahaha, your comment made ​​me ROTFL! :)
You're right. I've to add a small pause in the movement of the player when you cross the door. It's too easy sometimes to die in these circumstances. Thanks for your comment and I'm happy you like the game also with these bugs! ;)

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:12pm

@all: Thanks all for your positive opinions. :)

sam1373 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Very good game, but you should make it easier somehow.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:00am

Haha, hardcore indeed! I can't stay alive for more than two rooms. Taking the gold is just a death sentence!
Terrific art style and music. Awesome job!

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:23am

Decided to play the jam game, not the post one. Glad to see you have addressed the things I was going to bring up in the comments. Sweet game but only got half way and died at best. Run animation when loaded down with gold looks so perfect.

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

Eventually I just stopped taking the gold with me, too hard still. Like the feel of it though and the graphics.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I'm beginning to think that many of those who played my game consider it impossible because they always take the gold ... :/
Thank all for your feedback :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

There is a whole lot I really like about this game. Graphics and sound are very good, controls and theme seem excellent, and it's a fun concept. But it's ridiculously hard. Also it seems like you just do not have enough time if you took the gold since it slows you down so much. Nice job on it regardless of the flaws, a very solid entry.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

HAHA, What kind of sadic spirit create this game? It s great :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Nice game! Really hard, also without the gold. I managed to survive a few levels in a row, but couldn't make it to the end. ;)

ign says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

ARGGHHH. Very hard.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

haha, impossible game. terrific music though.

kivifreak says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:01am

Very cool game, though some riddles are impossible, or i'm to stupid to figure out.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Way too hard. Everything else is good!

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:09am

This is really challenging! You do excelent sprite artwork. The intro was fun.

RadJor says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:17am

Great music

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:55am

Great game, I love how you lay the trap right in the first room. I couldn't resist picking up the gold every time. Definitely ridiculously challenging, but in a good way. I'll need to give your post-compo versions a playthrough now as well.

laaph says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:10am

It's like a better version of the game I made!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:54am

Nice work! I enjoyed playing it.

Delca says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Hard and unforgiving, yet fun and a little addictive. Some of those rooms are nearly impossible (I even think some of them are not possible at all under the 10 seconds limit), and the game keeps on being challenging each time I replay it.
That being said, music and graphics are very good.
Good job!

panurge says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Very cool game. I love the art, sounds and hardcore difficulty level. I wasn't a greedy player but even without the gold I couldn't get very far... Really had that 'one more go' factor, though.

Excellent work!

rxi says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Oh my, that HTML page looks *very similar* to the one I wrote to house my entry! What a coincidence ;)

The game was a lot of fun. It was crazy difficult and I ended up giving up before completing it, but not without many attempts first. The game worked well in allowing the player to respawn instantly when dying, so it never felt frustrating or tedious. The whole mechanic of the 4 doors for each room and a random entrance / exit door made the game play interesting in that each room became a different challenge depending on which doors were chosen, and the player couldn't be too prepared at the moment before entering a room due to the many different combinations.

The introduction sequence gave the game a nice bit of personality. The use of the theme was well done, the music felt a little overbearing and I found myself having to turn it down, but overall the game was a really good effort and one I may return to in another attempt to beat!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:12pm

@rxi: You got me! Your HML page was so elegant that I couldn't resist to use it for myself! I hope you will forgive me! ;)
Thanks for your positive feedback, I'm pleasantly surprised that you've read in my game these aspects that someone has missed. You did a very accurate analysis. :)
I'm currently working on a new release with progressively increasing difficulty level for the rooms.

@all: Glad that you have found the game fun.! :)

fdevant says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This game is way too hard! hahahah

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:30pm

@fdevant: and that's a bad or a good thing? ;)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:51am

Very nice game, found it fun but really challenging... I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/jm5J5gdV81o

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:18pm

The graphics and music are spot on. It's a tad punishing, but I really like the idea. Great work!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I like the music :D ... The game's very hard but less hard without taking the gold.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]