August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Aliens on a Schoolday?!

by Farfin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kyaaa! It seemed like a typical schoolday until something different happened! Aliens have attacked the school and the remaining survivors (me) are hiding underground. There are moles everywhere and I hate moles! Can I make it out of range of the alien's laser that fires every 10 seconds!?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Fun4.09
#12Overall4.11
#29Audio3.80
#32Graphics4.22
#38Mood3.82
#80Theme3.81
#144Innovation3.64
#346Humor2.64
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:06am

Really Cool! I like it!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42am

Wow, I like this concept a little too much. I've never played a game quite like it. The graphics and animations are very nice too!

L says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Giving four stars for humour just on the strength of the game title.

The jelly-like splat of the character on platform landings is pretty cute.

Whiteclaws says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Amazing entry art-wise & and gameplay wise ! Too bad there's no music but the pixels are really crunchy !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Great job! It was fun to play!

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Awesome overall game. The laser effect is strong. I get a sense of urgency to get cover asap when I start to hear it!

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Great graphics, sound and idea. Sadly I failed at 150m in up mode. Best game in this compo I played so far.

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Awesome game overall. The animations, sound effects, idea, everything.

I was a little bit disappointed after the "c" thing. :P

osthekake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

No checkpoints mode is tense!

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

A cool game ^^.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Very cool !

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I enjoyed this so much! Reminded me of a stage in MegaMan. Very nice.

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48am

wow, I loved this one!
(didn't expect anything but a great game from you)

the mood is amazing - great music too

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

Cool entry, man!
Its very simple and addictive. I like that there isn't procedural generation and the descend has an end =)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Very nice!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

Amazing game, one of my favorites in the competition. The unlockable modes give it great replayability. I love it.

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01am

The lasers seemed very unpredictable other than that great

thethey says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:43am

Super fun! I can't wait for the M level... O_O

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Woah, the "up" mode is the real game! So much more challenging than going down. But I made it all the way to the top!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

beautifully atmospheric! loved that the first half was really just an introduction, and the second half was much harder

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

Well done!!! I liked this very much, good mechanics, mood and art!

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

little bit hard for me. Is it possible hide from laser ?
Good job !

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

BZZZZZAP

goyal says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Love the character animations! Great!

shatley123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:09am

I made it past 200 meters

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

Just WOW!

alvivar says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:13am

very good gameplay.

fun + mood.

Capro says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:37am

This is awesome. One of my favourite. Going down and then going up again is a great design idea.

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:03am

Great title! Art style worked great for this game. Reminded me of Canabalt's style. I thought the game was pretty easy and I flew through it.....only to unlock the UP mode. Not quite as easy! Well thought-out rewards adds a lot to this package. Also, your level design is superb and all the little details are great (like the moles hiding right before the lasers fire)! This is one of the top games I've played for this comp.

Alink says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Excellent. The laser idea was really fun and well executed. Nice replayability too.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:30am

Nice work on putting those different modes. It really makes a lot. And I was able to really appreciate the level design on the 'up' mode. Great work on that.
Graphics and sounds contribute to create a great mood, I'm a fan of the laser sound.

Sestren says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:02am

The pacing of each mode is great. By the time I was at "No Checkpoint Mode" the game was really intense, and every mistake and close call was a treat for my nerves. A lot of frustrating and challenging fun. Loved it!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Giving this game anything less than 5 stars would be a disgrace, Farfin this is a master piece well done! Im going to play a few of your past entries after the compo, really impressive stuff and glad to find your games!

manuq says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:10pm

The smooth movement of the character is great. Also the laser effect. And was very fun when I reached the bottom.

GFM says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Wow. This was awesome!

Platforming felt really nice. I had no trouble jumping on those vertical paths (which is something many get wrong!).

The laser idea was quite nice and made me pay attention to where I should hide... but what I liked most was the moles burying themselves to hide from the light! This enabled me to have some breather.

Another great decision was the camera only following when you are touching the ground and the death by going off screen. This made the game harder, since I had to plan carefully also based on these aspects.

The graphics were simply, but quite nice! The animations were specially great!

And you've made me play this four times!! Since the game was short, I tried every mode. =D

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]