August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Limitactics

by Killswitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Only works on Windows 16-bit or whatever...

There's a glitch that you don't lose when the time runs out. Written in C. My original plan was to program a cube puzzle with Java, but I fell in a "pitfall" situation on the graphics update(). Well, it's better that I finished something than finished nothing. Your main goal is to finish each trial by giving the right answers (which are always integers).

Suggestion: Assume that you lose if the timer becomes 0.0 or lower.

LINKS EDIT: Shortened the code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1698Coolness24%

Comments

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:47am

Doesn't work with Windows x64 :( http://imgur.com/makhjU5

Killswitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52am

Info updated. Sorry about that.

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53am

Ah same problem, I could try various compat modes but I run in sandboxie

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04am

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

Killswitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:07am

Question: Did anyone beat the game with 0.2+ seconds remaining?

devi ever says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:25am

Yeah, couldn't get it to run.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:03am

Didn't rate since I can't play it, the "only works in Windows 32 bit" thingy is gonna cost you a lot of players. @_@

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:14am

Ah, a 16-bit executable :)

On the first try I wrote marshmallows, pressed enter and it went nuts ;)

ghostonline says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

I couldn't get even past the first try (I must be particularly dense), so I just looked them up in the source code O:). Just a simple guessing game, but I do like the spirit of not giving up even when your main game fails. Reminds me of some of my own LD attempts where I just threw in the towel instead of at least finishing something.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

For anyone who wants to play this, you can run it inside dosbox.

I have no idea what I just downloaded and run, it gets into an infinite loop when I type "Marshmallow".
10/10 for the C code though.

Killswitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

The answers are all integers, says the info. Damn, what an epic fail for me. :O

Killswitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

"Convert with the A1Z26 cipher and add all the numbers."

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Got it to work in DosBox even on Win 7 x 64
Integer-only input is a bit tedious, especially the cipher conversion takes a lot of calculation. Might be a great educational program for highschool IT, letting them learn binary, octals and mathematical patterns :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]