August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Anachroma

by vandriver - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I was busy on saturday, so I couldn't polish much. Sadly that includes in-game instructions and tutorials, so here they are:

This is a game of survival. Ten seconds per boss. But it's also about time management: you can be invincible almost as much as you need, but it adds time to the counter.

Three color-coded bosses.
Red slashes and leaves a pit of acid on death.
Blue makes ice blocks and leaves a spinning deathray.
Yellow uses an explosive teleport and leaves a thunderstorm.

You curse each one in turn to die in 10 seconds.

Hold X to channel the curse for faster kills (doubles curse speed)
Hold C to phase and become invincible and speedy (quadruples curse speed in the opposite direction!)

While phased, you add time on your curses and if you add up past 20, you die.

When each boss dies, he leaves a remaining corpse ability and confers all his abilities to the survivors, including their death trigger, so the order you choose to kill them in is important.

Ice blocks won't kill you, but prevent movement unless phased.

Hit escape to return from battle to the boss order screen.

I'm not sure exactly which order is easiest or hardest, but I know killing red first is easier and killing red last is much harder. Even the easiest is probably too hard since I've had no playtesting/balance time. Be warned!

EDIT:
So after playtesting it a bit this evening after the dare, my suggestion for the first run-through is red, blue, yellow. I reckon it's the easiest. I think the opposite lineup is the hardest.

As the bosses die, you'll want to channel less so you don't have to phase as much. Especially if you're doing blue first, you'll have to phase a lot just to get through the beams already. If you are just walking around doing nothing, they all still die on their own!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#193Theme3.58
#207Innovation3.50
#225Fun3.36
#365Overall3.25
#579Audio2.50
#602Mood2.67
#705Graphics2.64
#773Humor1.89
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

joyman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Haha nice, but i know better to vandriver

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Wow this was very very original and cool *o*

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Cool Idea! I think it would have helped me to have a couple of easy tutorial levels.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Wow, very original and addictive game!

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Tough little game but I love the concept. Well done, I'd love to see this idea expanded on.

oajfh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Wow, very cool. Great fun, but very very hard. Nice grahics and sounds. A little easier, and with some cool music and this would have been amazing. I'll definitely be playing that one again.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Loved it.

Reyn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17pm

I constantly felt trapped and in fear for my life, well done :) I played this a lot longer than any other game thus far. I like the idea that you can indirectly set difficulty and trying to figure out what order is a game on its own. Thanks

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Hey Vandriver, this is a very fun game. Nintendo-hard, maybe, but I like having my ass kicked like that.

The two commands affecting the death timer in different ways is a cool idea.

I think this game deserves a lot of love in the shape of nicer graphics, and maybe some backstory, but as it is I liked playing it a lot!

Here is a video review for you: http://youtu.be/Ev3zV4j8TC4
Thanks for the game!

vandriver says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Haha, caranha thanks! Its so valuable to see reactions like that. It becomes more aapparent how poorly I explained the core game! The phase ability needs to be held down to fully dodge - you can be invincible as long as you hold it. Sorry About the frustrating play through, man and thanks again for the videa reviews - you're a true champion of ludum dare!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

sweet :D

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Original entry. With fine audio it was nice experience. Good job!

Jedi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Now that I've beaten it (after about an hour) I can safely say: it's too damn hard! :P
Good job!

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:58am

Tough game. I like all the different boss abilities. I was able to take two of them down. (Web and Warpmaim). The boss turning into a huge laser after being defeated seemed a little unfair.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:09am

SO AWESOME! This is easily the most innovative take on the theme thus far. Huge challenge and a really unique boss mechanic. Vandriver delivers yet again!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]