August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grind

by headchant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 second grind game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#108Mood3.49
#161Audio3.27
#224Overall3.43
#226Graphics3.50
#233Theme3.51
#451Fun3.05
#484Humor2.37
#574Innovation2.93

Comments

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Great aesthetic. I loved the intro screen.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

Hey, we both use LOVE! But seriously.. Wow, this is a great submission. I'm not sure if I can find very many flaws with it.

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Really clever idea! The opening screen really sets the theme well, and doing something as simple as walking from one patch of open area to another is stressful (in a good way). Cool game!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

The game was dull compared to the title screen which made it seems very cryptic and cool

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

the time/mana thing was clever. good use of the theme. with more time i bet it could make a pretty interesting puzzle adventure game.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

Cool graphics and I like the idea.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

I get a "stopped working" error when I attempt to run the program. (I'm on Win7.)

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42am

Dang this was really hard. Still pretty cool though.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

Nice job! The text blipping at me was annoying after a while. What's the skyrum for?

Great job!

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

Had to cheat and look at the map to know where to go (down and right [duh]), but I still did not manage to get there. The grind itself is fun, so I guess completing the game is optional ;)

SiENcE says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30am

Pretty good!

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

@oxysoft: No. Grinding is exciting.

@josefnpat: wow, you made it there? it has stats in the after-compo version :)

@madk: I have no idea...when did that happen, right in the beginning?

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

A great, hard game; the concept is very cool. Loved the audio too.

euvl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45am

Liked this game, so atmospheric!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I like the sound of the words :)

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:35am

I like the mechanic of grinding for money to buy additional time. Given the nature of the game being time constrained, I probably would have added two additional buttons for [use mana potion] and [use potion] rather than having to fiddle with the menu. I wasn't nearly good enough to get down to the lower right corner. Cool game.

Yngar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

You Win!
You Die!

headchant says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

@Yngar: should be fixed in latest version, I hope

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

You think this is love? ... you are right... it is love :D Great game. Thanks for this!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice graphics and the controls feel good. The time you gain from a mana potion is a bit short though in my opinion. I barely made it out of the town. Still a very cool and polished feeling entry!

meszka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Fun and addictive. Very challenging too, it's very easy to end up with not enough money/time/hp. Sometimes I used up almost all my time walking around without a battle, and other times I had one battle after another. But still I really like the concept of time as a resource instead of mana.

tompudding says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:46am

Looks great, and I liked the music (though the sound effects were somewhat annoying). I wish the theme was 60 seconds though because it really felt like not enough time. I lost most of the 1 second between mana potions waiting to press return again to take another (I am old and have bad reflexes)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:58am

I like it a lot :D Easy to learn, hard to master. Good visuals, nice music and SE.

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Interesting trade off of time/grinding. Very similar concept to Half Minute Hero. The text sound got really grating after a while, but I guess it goes with the old rpg style.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Great solid game, I hope you will continue to work on this.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:09pm

The map is too large, we cannot see where we are supposed to go, and 10 seconds is not enough.
But the rest of the game is good.

Radnen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I think the balance and pacing was off. If you could make mana potions more accessible you can keep the timer going and it becomes like a game of catch-up wrapped in an RPG format. Loved the style and combat though very old school. :)

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Very challenging and good use of the mechanic. Would be nice to see it developed further. Well done.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Man, that was pretty hard. The concept is very nice and music/sfx is cool.

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Mood was great. I like the style and music. It was really tough though. Not sure if the game was really hard or I just didn't get it somehow :)

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:34pm

This combination was pretty fun and challenging. The mana potions need to restore more time though, I never made it too far from the town :|
Anyways, great idea and use of theme. Loved to mood and the music too.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Very difficult but I will try out your post-compo version to see the differences. You have a pretty good start with the compo entry. Great intro, solid old-school visuals, and an interesting mechanic. Good work!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

My Game is much better than yours!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]