August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Worst 10 Seconds of Your Life

by biscuitdough - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The 10 seconds you'll remember forever.

Controls are wasd or arrow keys or any xbox360 controller you happen to have plugged in.

(it's not very impressive. Usually I err on the side of 'engaging' and 'fun', tried to experiment with just capturing a moment, and, it is what it is.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1051Graphics2.00
#1057Innovation2.17
#1070Theme2.42
#1181Fun1.63
#1201Overall1.74
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

couldn't figure out what to do. I only have a keyboard and box moved incredibly slow when pressing a direction. Maybe intentional?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Interesting idea, though the randomness of it made "winning" near impossible... but maybe that's the point? You find yourself separated from your [whatever] and feel like you need [whatever] back in your life, but the world is holding you back, making it impossible to [take back what you did/get whatever back/etc].

I think I get it the message, and I enjoyed that, but the game itself was lacking.

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:54am

Hard to play, seems imposable to win. Nice design though :D

Malactus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

I counted more than 10 seconds :) especially as the time starts to slow down at the end. Warping time there. Interesting concept. but could be refined to distance from the target instead of "time is nigh".

In anycase the randomness makes this nigh impossible to reach the goal, and i think you goal slides away anyway. Not sure if intentional or has deeper meaning but interesting regardless.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

was quite difficult, would hvae preferred slightly faster gameplay, with fewer obstacles.

biscuitdough says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

Hopefully people play the game before reading the comments, but yeah, the idea was that the worst 10 seconds of your life feel like they never really end, you'll keep re-thinking them with slightly different variations, thinking about how you could get the result you want, but it never really works.
It's not fun at all, you can't win(at least as far as I can tell), mainly made it to try something completely different from what I usually do.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Hm, is it possible to catch the ball?

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Nice concept and design. I see it a bit hard to win, but this is just me ;)

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

very hard game ... my kind of games very good

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

Hmm managed to cross to the other side but the circle just float away... Eitherway good entry

alts says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I think the idea of convincing a player than only ten seconds have passed in some activity is interesting, but would have to be more subtle than this. Time should stretch out much more slowly. I eventually just felt like I was moving through molasses, which is a very different feeling. The long "introduction" is also discourages additional attempts.

Epiphane says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

Quite difficult to control, and it felt like it was slowing down as the game progressed... The hitboxes are really unforgiving, it seems like you can't get anywhere near the shapes. Fun idea though, it would really help if you character was a lot faster and the tetris blocks were more sparse.

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:35pm

interesting idea. Keeping the ball on the screen might help players to think it is possible!

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Oh, so it really can't be beaten... Ok, interesting piece. But quite infuriating if I actually try to beat it :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]