August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fantastic Journey of a Teleporting Circle

by nek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the strange world of geometric figures!
Help a little circle who can't help but teleport himself every 10 seconds to find whatever he's looking for.
Pay attention to the enigmatic Triangle's hyperspace wisdom.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Graphics3.52
#313Mood3.06
#325Theme3.40
#372Overall3.24
#476Fun3.00
#588Audio2.48
#683Innovation2.79
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46am

I really like your game! The graphics are very cleverly done and the triangle idea is very cool :)
Are the graphics created by the program, or did you make a small animation of each background?

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:22pm

That's appreciated!

If you are talking about the plasma effects it's completely procedural. Different backgrounds are the same fx with different parameters.
Here is the source:
https://github.com/Nek/FantasticJourneyOfTeleportingCircle/blob/master/src/entities/Plasma.hx

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Looks really interesting... Nice idea! :)

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I really like the graphics! Especially the background and the triangle ;)

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

The X's had me a couple of times but after telling myself "I CAN DO THIS!" I was past it. A bricked it a little on the final level and managed it first time through my mad skill.

Great entry.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Your graphics are the cutest, it's sad u didn't use it for the all game.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Neat! Great abstract graphics, and the soundtrack sets the mood nicely.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

The triangle graphics are great. The gameplay isn't that interesting unfortunately :/

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Xgor, yeah, I'm aware of the problem. :( Spent too much time setting the mood with triangle scene and not enough time polishing gameplay.

Yaguar, your skill is welcome. :D I really appreciate you like the game.

Anna, it's an experiment. I like the result and definitely will use this style again.
I'd like to use a lot of simple geometric shapes filled with all kind of psychodelic FX. :)

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I finished it! I really liked the control scheme, very simple idea and well-executed! Great job.

wine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Glory to Great triangle! Cool concept but lacking sound / music while playing )

dudsen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Cool stuff, would be killer with music within the levels!

nek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Thanks everyone!

I'm sure it needs three things:
- better gameplay (a lot of it :)
- music and sfx
- more articulate ending

SbstnC says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I wish there was more of that triangle and psychedelic background, but good entry anyway.

justi says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very nice game. Well done graphics and animations.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:01pm

The cutscenes look and sound fantastic! I wish the plasma effect and drone sound would stay throughout the whole game. They really set up an amazing athmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]