August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Yin: A Game About Happiness

by Sanguine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yin: A Game About Happiness is an exploration platformer. It is set in a cute, geometrical world. The goal is to make Yin happy, but it is all up to you what you do.

The theme is worked into the game that every ten seconds Yin loves a new thing.

Instructions:

WASD or arrows to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Mood3.79
#76Graphics3.97
#81Audio3.52
#268Humor2.80
#435Overall3.17
#580Fun2.90
#647Innovation2.83
#1098Theme2.32
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

DeadlyFugu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:18am

SO CUTE :D
Sometimes dying causes it to glitch out (e.g. getting

DeadlyFugu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

SO CUTE :D
Sometimes dying causes it to glitch out (e.g. getting stuck in floors)

Bekokstover says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37am

Looks cool! Paper styleee

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24am

It's impossible to play this game and not smile. I had a huge grin on my face throughout the entire thing. The controls were good, the graphics cute, and the music the cutest of all (tied with the jump sounds!).

I got a little concerned when jumping in the water made me die (I thought Yin liked water?). But then I realised I was jumping on a turtle I couldn't see, and everything was right with the world again. Perhaps a little more view range would be nice though.

It doesn't have the best graphics of LD, nor the best music, sound, or levels. But the mood is so perfect that this game will be the one I remember. Well done.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

Put a smile on my face. I just couldn't see the theme and maybe put a better sense of progression and idea what you have to do? :)

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53am

This is the cutest game I have ever played.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice game ! I wished there was a minimum level of happiness to go on the next level but it's allright there is a happy end :D

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Adorable.

Reminds me of Paper Mario a tiny bit.

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Cute and refreshing. Didn't see much relation to the theme, but I'm happy nonetheless :p

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Very good graphics and music, but the gameplay is a little bit too poor.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35pm

This is super cute, but could have more gameplay and be more focused on the theme. Congratulations

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This is a very happy game. :)

I'd like the to be a bit more depth to it (there's not much penalty for not making Yin happy, and the reward is that...Yin is happy) but I'm not sure how much that matters in the end. This is a game about happiness, not competition or challenge.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

In the world of Ludum Dare, so often full of danger, angst and loneliness, it's good to see a game that's so unashamedly *happy*. Nice one!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:03am

Yeah, I'd love to see this expanded into a more complex "toy", so that things happen more often and there's more stuff to do in general. Very pretty though, good job!

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:04am

Nice game, I liked the graphics!!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38am

Well that was a strange game. For adults I mean. It would be a great game for kids I'm sure! I made it to the end alive :D A bit boring for me, but I get what you were aiming for.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Dear lord, it's like Kirby got high and made a video game.
Well done, but I feel like it needs some kind of happyometer so you can keep track of your score while you're playing.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Makes me smile!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Very cute game. Nice artwork, good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

this was a great game -- very refreshing

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

sooo cute and happy, really smooth gameplay, and nice art style, awesome game good job

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

That's really relaxing the only thing I can relate with the theme that ur stuff u want to do change every 10 seconds but over all nice relaxing game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]