August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Treasures of the Decimaze

by phaed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find the 4 lost shinies. It could be easy, but the maze shifts beneath you every 10 seconds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#752Theme2.94
#851Innovation2.56
#1033Fun2.25
#1046Overall2.47
#1129Graphics1.81
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

"Hey, here's a maze. Now, here's another maze! Now it's backwards! Hahahaha!"

Nice game concept! Great job!

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05am

nice switching mechanic

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:33am

The switch mazes was a cool mechanic. Also have a puzzle solving aspect to it too. Good Job.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

cool switching to another maze ... but I have the memorie of a hummer

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I thought that the idea of switching every ten seconds was nice, but inverting the other maze seemed just plain mean. Diabolical might be more accurate. It added something positive to the game (I'm not quite sure what), but also added an annoyance factor which isn't usually good in maze games. Overall a fun entry.

alts says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I think this would have been a much better "Parallel Worlds" entry and a "10 seconds" entry. The maze switching is interesting. You're effectively adding a third dimension to the maze.

There are a couple changes I'd consider. First, allow the player the ability to zoom out and _see_ the maze. Traditional mazes typically let you see the exit. This would allow the player to think up a strategy and really engage in the switching mechanic.

Another change I'd consider is to allow the player to select which maze to enter at the next switch. It was frustrating sitting and waiting for a particular maze to come up, and instead get one I don't need.

Nice work.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Interesting idea, but it was a bit boring to wait until a particular maze arrives and also a bit frustrating not to be able to see the whole maze.

Sh1rogane says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Like the concept, but it is hard and some times a but slow to have to wait for the right maze to show up. But i liked it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]