August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Explore10

by mokesmoe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are shown in game. Esc will exit.

How much of the temple can you explore?
(It is possible to reach every part of the map.)

Made in GameMaker Studio.

I didn't have time to sprite the character well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#536Theme3.20
#603Graphics2.80
#726Mood2.50
#737Fun2.70
#749Innovation2.72
#811Overall2.80
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

The biggest downside is the actual 10 second limit. I wanted to play and explore more but that limit kept me from doing so. However the way the character controls is really nice. :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

Nice visual style and very smooth gameplay. I like how the extra abilities were revealed.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

That isn't even close to being a game, though. What's the point of exploration if there's no time to explore? (I was fond of the tile work, however.)

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

Nice job! I like the overall feel and visuals. The installer is a bit annoying, other than I like it. The jumping is awesome!

mokesmoe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Yeah, this is my first game since I upgraded to studio and I don't like the installer. I think it's just a file so I'll see if I can upload a rar as well.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

Nice tiles, they remind me of Greek/Roman vases. I also like how abilities were revealed.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25am

I agree with everyone else I really wanted to explore the area more. Though I guess it is somewhat of a good thing since you have as interested in it :D

Dotanukii says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

The way you discover abilities is really great, nicely done! Once i figured out the concept of trial and error exploration I really liked it.

mokesmoe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

It turns out you can make standalone exes with studio so I put that up.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Loved the art style.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Ok, I like the movement/physics, not sure about the controls, I means l+m to teleport?
I wish there were time power-ups so I could explore the world and some more "checkpoints"

phaed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Control on this felt really good. I definitely wanted to see more of the level than seemed possible in the time limit. I like the detailing on the walls.

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I liked the idea with finding out the keys by exploring. strangely everyone uses the Y/Z keys which are swapped on the german keyboard and sometimes makes them unplayable.;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Neat idea, having exploration be the game itself. I wish there was more time to explore, or more teleportation spots (or maybe I only found the first?). I think that having collectibles or flags to mark your progress could be cool, have it be a challenge to find all the flags, instead of just the user remembering where they have/have't been.

mokesmoe says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:10am

I didn't want collectibles because my goal was to have nothing in the game change between playthroughs.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Not bad work. Idea is very neat, but I want more time to exploring :D However, is quite cool.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

take some time to get the hang of it but nice game

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:29am

Controls are really solid but I kind of felt like it was more of a collision test than anything. A goal would have been nice, or at least something like coins to collect for a high score.

epiplon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:30am

It's pointless.

Bernhard says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Loved it! My favorite so far! It's like an open world super meat boy :-)
Wish I could have found something like an end after playing so long >_< So I consider standing on top of the underground four-holed square thingy as my personal goal.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Not really a game but quite playable! :D
I love exploring games and I like how you discover new abilities. :)
I think I've explored the entire map, I have to play again to find out if it's true. :)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:06pm

watching you .............

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]