August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pizza Time

by DrSuperSocks - Jam Entry

This game is very unfinished.

Last Ludum Dare, we decided to experiment using Unity (I usually do the code in C++), and I learned Unity while doing the compo. So, this time, I thought we could do the same thing with JavaScript and three.js. You can't. I was scrambling to learn and troubleshoot, and most troubleshooting was slow trial and error. I ended up switching to C++ with more than half the competition over. I coded as much as I could, but I couldn't get a solid game together. This submission features just the unfinished level and a fairly complete control system.

Game Concept:

You're a little girl who went on a picnic with her younger brother. On this picnic you "accidentally" ingest some magic mushrooms. When the trip starts you're thrown into the game. It's a 3D platformer spanning one large level. Every ten seconds the level and enemies change in some way.
Once you defeat the final boss the end cut scene rolls and you realize that every enemy you killed was a human in real life, and they were just distorted because you were tripping. The end.

Controls:
- WASD
- Space to jump
- Left click to attack (no enemies to fight though)

We plan on finishing this game for ourselves throughout this week, though! We think the game concept is really cool (in a messed up sort of way). Unfortunately, the "game concept" isn't in this submission at all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#416Graphics(Jam)2.82
#576Innovation(Jam)2.07
#584Overall(Jam)2.29
#589Theme(Jam)1.80
#597Fun(Jam)1.75
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47am

I like the idea but I can hear no sound and when I felt in the water I couldn't get out.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50am

Nice looking game! Wish there was some audio and opportunity to restart the level.

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Good game, continue the game

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

Looking forward to seeing where it goes.

cardboard says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:46am

I like the world you've created so far. I can see myself enjoying this game when you finish it, not that I didn't enjoy the little exploration I got to do already. Movement forward and backward is a little awkward when trying to jump from platform to platform, since pressing forward for a second takes a full step rather than just inching the character forward. I hope you keep working on this!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

I feel you with c++, there is a way to use it via dll imports in unity, altho it needs a proper toolchain to debug. Unity actually outstands the competition in rapid events like this in terms of 3d.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:27pm

That yellow thingy was nice. Don't use debug version for distribution, don't use that strong blur and turn off that inertia.

mamoniem says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:00am

nice little game Teddy, i felt am playing Alice madness Return :D

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

System unsustainable

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]