August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Black Hole Runner

by MatrixBai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Plot

Your spaceship is crap, you know that but don't care. "What trouble I'll get in this peaceful universe?" You always told yourself. Yes, you're right. There's no big trouble until you met the BLACK HOLE. You need 10 secs to prepare jump, and at the mean time, evade asteroids and catch fuel tanks. Easy job, isn't it?

========================================================

Spaceship Operation Manual

1.SPACE key control engine to go forward, consuming fuel.
2.UP key and DOWN key control vertical position, these don't need fuel.
3.Gravity slow down time as it increase.
4.Run out of fuel? Just take it easy and wait to DIE.
5.Captured by a black hole? Also take it easy and wait to DIE.

========================================================

Build Tools

* Unity3D, 2D ToolKit, Prime31 Unity Scripts, GoKit
* Garageband, bfxr
* Inkscape
=========================================================

NOTE : About the crazy slow movement.

I see many complains the moving speed is too slow, so here's my explanation. Actually the movement is very fast to the captain in the ship, we think it's slow because out time speed is much faster than his. From game start to jump success, it's only 10 seconds to the captain, we already have take too many actions in such short time, made the captain vomit a lot. So for his safe, we can't move faster than that. I hope you like my explanation :-)

Here's my confession http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/28/the-mistake-i-made-in-black-hole-runner/

=========================================================

Update:

* Update the Windows and Linux build.
* Add Kongregate post compo version, much easier to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#408Audio2.79
#742Humor1.95
#824Mood2.38
#933Graphics2.24
#937Theme2.69
#1018Innovation2.25
#1153Overall2.12
#1155Fun1.82

Comments

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Both the Windows and Linux versions don't want to work - there's an error about the data folder missing in both cases!

Can't play the online version myself because there is no Linux Unity Web Player. Fix please? :(

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25am

@DaVince I'm sorry to hear that. Although I don't have Windows and Linux devices, I'll try my best to fix it.

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05am

@DaVince I updated the Windows and Linux build, fixed my silly fault :-)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:44am

Man, the speed at which you go up and down is ridiculously slow. Other than that neat concept and game.

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:45am

In the web version i can't move up and down, tried everything, arrow keys, num keys, awsd, nothing works, only space. And that never has any effect on the movement of the ship, i think the problem lies there, the ship movement.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:48am

Cool concept but I find it hard to avoid the asteroids at that speed. Some tweaking of the movement would be good.

team_cow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:49am

The up and down movement is extremely slow. Funky music tho =)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:05am

Quite nice :) Good job!

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

The ship needs to move faster, but I love your idea. A lot of different elements going on. You have the time itself to make your escape, the dodging of various obstacles and the collection of some. And the ever chasing black hole. Music fit the space theme really well, but the ship movement definitely needs some adjustments. Very neat game!

rejome says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13am

Too slow UP/DOWN movements to make it really playable...

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Yeah, as mentioned too slow controls. How do one even supposed to dodge those fast rocks. And 10 seconds theme is kinda badly represented.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Great music and mood. Couldnt complete it though

JHollands says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Nice game, the up & down speed of the ship was frustratingly slow though!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Super Slow O.O but still, I enjoyed it :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I have to agree with other people that the movement is too slow. I get there's a reason for it narratively, and that time is going slower for the player, but having the ship move that slowly simply makes the game less fun. I do like the basic idea of the game and it's quite atmospheric with the music.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice music, kind of like the graphic. Like that you used a black hole to slow down time although certain other physical properties of the black hole have not been conserved.

As others have mentioned the up down is way too slow, it make the game unplayable.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53pm

The vertical movement was so slow it became a bit jarring. Other than that, it is a pretty neat game, if simple. But the speed issue made it too tedious to keep playing for very long.
But love how you adressed this issue on this page :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13pm

The up/down movements were too slow, and it's almost impossible to avoid rocks that come at you. Nice soundtrack though.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:58pm

The up/down movement is too slow relative to the asteroids. If you're saying the ship is slow due to time dilation, then those asteroids must be traveling at the speed of light! Love the concept of having to prolong the inevitable while you wait for a jump to hyperspace. If you could just make the controls so you actually have a chance to skill your way out instead of hoping the random number generator is kind to you, it could be quite a fun game.

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:33pm

The style of the HUD and the spaceship made me nostalgic for old Flash games!

It's also good to see another game with gravity in space!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I get that the slow vertical movement is intentional, but I think what gets people is that the vertical movement is /always/ slow. If it was faster initially but got slower as you got closer to the black hole, that would work. (Also it feels cheap that you're affected by gravity slowdown, but the asteroids seemingly aren't).

goyal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27am

The ship movement is way tooooooo slow. The space ship looks cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]