August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flameout

by quadtree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: The HTML5 version has only been confirmed to work with Google Chrome. If for some reason it does not work, try the Java version.

In this turn based simulation game, you must bring the probe lander safely to the ground before your 10 seconds of fuel run out.

Each turn represents 1 second. You can tell where your lander will go next turn by looking at the "ghosts". The first represents where your lander will be in 1 second at the current engine power. The second represents where your lander will be in 2 seconds if you cut power after 1 second.

Due to shoddy lander construction, subsystems will fail as the lander descends. There is a display in the center right of the screen indicating the current status of your systems. If the text is yellow, the system is half damaged. Red means fully damaged. Mousing over a subsystem will tell you what will happen if it is damaged.

There are colored markers pointing at the subsystems, representing your ground crew's attention on that system. If a crewmember is monitoring a system, it will take no more damage, and they will repair it over time. To move a crewmember, click on their marker and click on the system you want them to monitor.

Controls:
WASD/Cursor Keys - Control thrust
Shift + Thrust Control - Minor thrust adjustments
X - Stop all thrust
Enter - End turn
H - View help screen.

Tips:
- You need to be going below 6 m/s for a perfect landing.
- Some subsystems are more important than others.
- The estimated landing speed is only an estimate.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Innovation3.52
#550Humor2.24
#726Graphics2.60
#738Overall2.88
#759Mood2.47
#774Audio2.10
#908Fun2.48
#912Theme2.72
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06am

The objective could've been clearer. For a while I thought I was supposed to navigate the lander to Earth somehow.

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11am

Turn based lunar lander - I love it!

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12am

I thought I was supposed to mine something using mechanical arms

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17am

Sorry, I really didn't like this one. Graphics: you're using too many raw colours, the text is hard to read when blue, and there's plenty of pretty colour schemes you can get by not sticking to RGB. RGB shows you're lazy. The intro was kinda pointless and weird, seems like you spent more time on that than the actual game. Instructions are way too long. The gameplay though is interesting but I don't see how it relates to 10 seconds that much.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17am

They just don't make enough lander games. I agree I was confused the first time (why did I fly up?).

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18am

I agree with: I thought I was supposed to mine something using mechanical arms

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Really enjoyed the intro and general scientific mood.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Pretty cool concept! Managed to land it to a cavern :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

This is a neat concept. I liked the intro slideshow graphics as well. :)

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:54am

I couldn't get this at all-- gameplay wise it was pretty hard.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:16am

That was fun, nice work!

dagothig says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:26am

Great game but godammnit was it hard

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Not bad! Quite good work :)

villhest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I played it for way too long. Thanks!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

My Game is much better than yours! OHOHOHOHO ! Russian Alien watching you .............

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]