August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Color Shift

by Sandcrawler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Color Shift, your character shifts colors every 10 seconds randomly. Your goal is to collect the colored rings, and then reach the white castle. avoid enemies, and active shrines while you search.

Made using:
Construct 2
Gimp
Python music generator
Audacity
Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#597Innovation2.90
#823Audio1.94
#1003Overall2.55
#1003Theme2.57
#1040Graphics2.05
#1136Fun1.90
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

interesting concept, but the collision detection could be improved.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I like the game but it runs too poorly for me in the browser to appreciate the extend of the work

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I think the collision detection problems that nicotuason has are the same problem causing the poor performance.

The poor performance started Sunday morning, I'm certain it has to do with how many objects are being drawn on the canvas at once. But I don't have a quick fix. Initially I wanted it to be done procedural with a seed, but that didn't work out.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I think the concept has potential, but it is almost unplayable in my browser. I also wasn't too sure what the scrollwheel did and what my goals were.

Laelien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Could be fun, if it was actually playable. You might want to check your collision system, like, really, because it gets slow very fast and unfortunately unplayable.

Zap says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:43am

I think this is a really interesting concept - the reward for finding rings allows you to move through the level easier, and the punishment for touching an enemy is restricted movement. Simple but very effective.
It wasn't clear how many rings were left to collect (unless you scroll through and try to work it out) so therefore it wasn't clear when to head back to the castle. What if the player had ring 'slots' around them, so you could see how many were left and which have been collected?
Holding down the LMB to control was a bit annoying, but MMB scroll worked well.
And yes, it was a bit laggy, but I managed to play through the whole thing (Chrome)

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:35am

Promising concept, had performance issues for me. I think the mechanic can be further worked on to make it awesome

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:15pm

The concept looks nice. As others said, it runs poorly for the basic shapes displayed. Blame construct 2 for this, you could go for a simpler tool like CreateJS.

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:09pm

@CosmicAdventureSquad The scrollwheel rotates through the rings, and your goal is to collect all of the colored rings.

@Laelien Yep, it was working fine all of Friday and Saturday, and then sunday it started having problems. I think I could fix it now, but I would rather do it differently anyways (I wanted to generate the placement based on a seed number) The mouse controls are also done in a hacky way.

@Zap I approached the game using the Color wheelthat Computers generally go by. Red Green Blue, then mixed they make Cyan Violet Yellow, and White. But I realize that isn't really common knowledge. The shrines also play a roll in it, in that they shoot a colored pip at the next color in the sequence (including white, that was really hard to see) If I return to this game I would like to add a trail particle to the pip. I did that about adding the ring slot, and still might.

@vikingpotato I agree, I think this game can be taken farther. I already have a handful of additional ideas I would like to add to a post compo version (at some point)

@manuq I'm not particularly interested in learning how to do it with JS. I like being able to work visually. I dont think Construct 2 is really to blame for the performance issues, more the way that I short cut things in order to finish. In the same regard I doubt that writing the code myself would be any better as I tend to shortcut for LD, instead of using the most efficient way.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:06am

It took me a while to figure out that the scroll-wheel was that useful (that's what I get for skipping over intro screens), but once I figured that out I really liked it. This is one of those games that looks deceptively simple, but really has cool game mechanics going on. Performance was a bit sluggish at times, particularly toward the end when I ended up having a half-dozen black circles following me, but nothing game-breaking. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]