August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Tactics

by Schwiggy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to command all of your troops every turn. Not everyone will be remembered, but you have to work as a team to succeed. Click and drag to move a unit, then click again to fire. Some weapons can be fired continuously through the enemies turn.

WASD moves the view and QE zooms in and out. Or you can just use the mouse and scroll wheel. It's easier to give commands up close but seeing the big picture has its benefits.

Tools:
GameMaker Studio
Inkscape
Garage Band

Note: Some people are experiencing a glitch on the web version where the AI freezes the screen until the end of its turn. This is a bug with GM:Studio so if you have Windows I advise downloading the PC version. Sorry for the inconvenience :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#156Theme3.66
#225Innovation3.47
#340Overall3.28
#383Fun3.13
#674Audio2.32
#721Mood2.51
#756Humor1.93
#888Graphics2.33

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

This is actually a great take on RTS combined with 10sec. Nice one!

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Yeah this is a very cool way to do turn-based strategy while giving it a sense of urgency. Multiplayer would be awesome!

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

The concept in this one is really nice. Keep up the good work.

Cardanis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

The strategy behind it is really fun!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Nice strategy game! Really fun =)

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Wow, nice idea, I would love to see a more deep game about this.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

A good idea very well executed, the levels were nice, the AI impressingly clever and varied weapons and enemies.

However, the timer (and game with it) kept freezing every time the enemy timer hit 8 or 9, so they only got very(!) short turns making it a very easy game.

Can't wait to play the last level with a friend ;D

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice game. I'm also experiencing the problem Zeppelin Captain describes.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Great concept. I actually think this game would be better if it didn't have the timer though.

PapaWhiskey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Not too shabby! A bit lacking visually, but really fun to play!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

Sweet use of the theme, it worked really well. The difficulty is evenly balanced and overall it's a good game for 48 hours.

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

Really good AI and everything for the time limit, I really liked the idea! I also loved the music in the background, nice work!

shard123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

I really enjoyed your entry, a little buggy but still extremely fun!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

This was an interesting mechanic. I thought it was clever.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

Good Job! I had some problems with the controls, would have preferred click once to select, click again to move, click after that to shoot. Instead of the click and drag. Overall, well done! :0)

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

Great for the 48 hours! A hit a few bugs and think it would be improved by being more zoomed out. But with some more dev time , I think this could be an incredible game.

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

From what I was able to play it was great.

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

Really liked the mix of turn based with the timer. Controls seemed a bit buggy maybe but understandable, they worked pretty well tho!

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35am

Interesting game! It took me a while to actually figure out the controls, but once I did, it was nifty.

Also - just fyi - the game didn't work properly for me in Chrome, but worked fine in IE (that's uncommon)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

nice use of theme -- decent graphics -- nice game

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18am

Good game. Agree with better controls like matthewvermaak said.

Darklotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27am

Experienced the same issues as mentioned above re controls/counter, despite that a fun 5 minutes.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16am

Very clever idea! Buggy enemy timer though! Also I didn't get any lose condition when I lost all my players.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10am

Wow! Great and addictive game! Also nice music.

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04am

Great strategy game, nice entry. I really enjoyed your game! GJ

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

Good game but i didn't like controls

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:19am

I like these kind of games, but all of them are take so long i get bored at the end.. But this is so fast-paced I want to play more and more :D

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

Cool idea, would probably work very well in mobile.

Found the camera control a bit finicky, would have liked to see more of the level at once.

Overall: Cool :)

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28am

Very funny and challenging. The game has a lot of variety thanks to all the weapons and maps. And the multiplayer map only makes the game better.

The armoured enemy scared me!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

very very nice and fun

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

I liked this game a lot. It could make a really cool android game, if you had the time. I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

JoeCool17 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38am

I couldn't get past the first level on web as the red team moved their last guy off screen and wouldn't bring him back into play.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Really well thought out concept! It takes a while to discover the best way to play, which is always a good thing :)

cwkx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Fun little RTS. Good job :)

evilentity says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Pretty cool concepts, nice execution.

01rafael says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Great game!!! I just kiii a team member! )))) Want to replay, but I like it! I'll save this limk on favourites ))

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09pm

haha fun

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Really cool idea! Actually looks a lot like my entry, go take a look and tell me what you think :)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54pm

This idea really has a lot of potential, you should definitely keep working on it. Like others have referenced, this does a great job of taking a turn based game and making it urgent.

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Sometimes game hang out (when red team should move) but in other aspects is a very good game.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

A solid entry... did not care much for the controls, but the idea was brilliant and it adds a hectic feel to an otherwise turn based tactics game... artstyle fit the game but sound got annoying fast...

Good job and good luck!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice concept! I played until the city fight, which got a bit too big for me. It would be better if shooting worked with right click, now I ended up shooting my own people sometimes. The AI was pretty bad (understandable for LD), and I couldn't always see what it was doing (which is probably a bug).

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Great minimalist RTS game.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Cool idea and well implemented, though I think the controls need a little tweaking still

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Very simplistic graphics, but quite a fun little tactics game. I did well up to Level 3, then I got slaughtered. The enemy AI is pretty good. Feels a bit like something you might have got on a collection of freeware games when you bought a PC in the 90s (not meant as a slam, I used to love those freeware game collections).

Needs a Game Over message when all your dudes die.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Fun game, unfortunately a very weak AI

valgriz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

This is a great game!

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Nice use of the theme, great take on rts style gameplay. The controls take a bit of getting used to and some of the bigger levels felt weird as i could only move my guys a tiny amount (loads of small levels would have been great). Amazing work overall!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29pm

The controls were a little tough to get used to, but I'm glad to see someone ran with idea. I almost did it, but was a little intimidated by having to make AI. Anyway, I really like the gameplay and idea, good work!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Cool idea, but as other mentionned I got some freeze on timer on the red timer.

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:09am

man this is great. I really liked this and I won! And it was really FREAKING CLOSE. came down to 1 vs 1 dancing around the hay. really awesome work.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16am

Really nice. Could use a bit of polish but that was splendidly fun.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:33am

This is really cool, fun turn based strategy. Very enjoyable.

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Really great idea. Well done! :) Some more polish and a multiplayer mode would be very nice. :D

bitserum says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

Awesome idea, and the AI is great

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

A great entry. Only thing is that 10 seconds scale very poorly when the number of soldiers grow. But I like how you made different units with unique properties, really good design on that part.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Really like this kind of gameplay, took me a while to work out how to play properly though

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Ah, I love the amount of strategy involved in a game like this. It'd be an awesome pvp game.
Great concept!

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Cool game. The game slowed down or froze a couple of times on the enemies turn until it was my turn again.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Very unique and great gameplay. Had a ton of fun with it! Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]