August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Decasecond International

by qrunchmonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here at Decasecond International, we've been working to find new and exciting ways of wasting time for nearly 48 hours, and we are proud to present our latest time wasting technology to you, TODAY!

WARNING: There's no save function in the Compo version. If you close the tab, you lose your save. Hopefully I'll have a version with save for the Jam.

(Note: Requires Javascript, and a semi modern web browser, not IE)


Built with HTML5, Javascript, Middleman, Underscore.js, jQuery

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Humor3.24
#246Innovation3.42
#508Mood2.79
#569Overall3.04
#730Fun2.71
#737Theme2.96
#1082Graphics1.94
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

I don't get it. Is there some way to interact?

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

Reminds me 'the cookie game'(you might know what I'm saying). But I can't see how many seconds I have.

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06am

What am I missing? Is there a way to control anything in this game?

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06am

I really like this kind of game (I've played quite a few of them) - I'm going to keep this open in the background while I do the other games :D

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Not sure how to play it.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32am

This is great! Reminded me of the cookie game indeed. Nailed the theme too. Good stuff :-)

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41am

Interesting concept. Not sure where 10 seconds come in, but it is a game about time, I suppose. It's a shame the info disappears after a while.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05am

Ooh could stare and wait for hours :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38am

I had a blast!
I admit that at a certain point I let it run alone...

drilltail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I've had this running for so long.

"Blinkenlichten - Studies show that progress indicators make time seem to go up to 10% faster."
I now really think that this is true.

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:22am

This was fun, reminded me of the candy box and the cookies game, shame that after a moment I get bored of it though.

Pyrofoux says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I love the idea. Well done. :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very interesting concept. I like the web-deploy. Nice work.

Syawra says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

I love these disturbing experimental games. Great job !

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

This is way more fun than it has any right to be! I'm still playing it now. I love the concept and the slyly humorous execution. Thought-provoking and funny at the same time. I'm going to leave it running and see how far it goes. Great work!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I love this kinda games I love it

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:51am

I liked this. I would have liked it a lot more if it hadn't moved so slowly.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:05pm

What a waste of time! It's great.

Reminded me of "Cookie Clicker", except I enjoyed your game. It's certainly a realistic depiction of time-wasting. Speeding up time gave me a sense of achievement, and it was fun seeing what new stuff I could get.

The humour is probably the best part of the game. The suit guy's pitch was hilarious.

Possible technical issues? Sometimes time progression will slow down when you buy new items, without explanation. Also, sometimes the percentage at the top of the screen will show slowing, even though the stats in the text say it's been speeded up. Not sure whether this is a bug or just me being thick.

Thanks for wasting half an hour of my life! (Now, maybe I can get that Corinthian leather room...)

Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:17pm

EDIT: I just realised that the intro screen explains that time goes slower when buying certain items. I looks stupid now.

Also, typo check: I caught an "it's" that should be "its" at one point.

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:51am

Oh wow, very original! HTML technology is bringing back text-based games, in a renewed form! I like layout of the elements on screen. Hope to see more.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]