August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Time Shoot

by TheSambassador - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is attempting to be a mix of Super Crate Box and Geometry Wars. It's a top-down shooter, and every 10 seconds, you will get a new gun.

Controls:
WASD : Movement
Mouse : Aim
Click : Shoot

Occasionally, the level will shift. The new level will appear transparently, and you'll need to get out of the way.

Fancier graphics, more weapons, more enemies, and powerups were planned, but this came down to the wire.

Let me know how high of a score you can get!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#28Fun3.90
#264Overall3.38
#289Theme3.45
#408Audio2.79
#630Mood2.63
#683Innovation2.79
#819Humor1.80
#947Graphics2.21

Comments

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27am

Cool! I really liked the "circle" weapon

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27am

This game has the potential to be more fun fo' sho. Using the pistol was work though. Carpels sure to set in ;) Not sure if there is a machine gun later or something. The Mine was difficult, especially when shooting enemies started to appear. Not sure if random weapons vs random opponents sits keenly with me. But this is definitely a workable game =)

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34am

Seems like we had a similar idea for concepts. :)

The art style is not bad. I especially like the way the enemies dissolve when they die. The vocoder weapon names sound great. The lack of sound or explosion for when the player dies is kind of a let-down, though. There definitely needs to be some beat-heavy music to set the mood, too.

I think the weapons could be balanced a little better, and some visual feedback of the cooldown on some of the longer recharging weapons like the shockwave would be good. I kinda wish you could use keyboard buttons to shoot, too, even if it would limit your aiming abilities. I tried playing it with a touchpad on a laptop and it just didn't work well. It would work with a gamepad if it had directional shooting, too. The movement feels a touch too fast for me, as well.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41am

Weapons (especially shockwave) and sounds are cool.
good game :)

Ghandhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01am

I've listened to dubstep while playing. Effect? RAMPAGE MODE!

fluffypillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Nice! I really liked the theme in this game.
The weapon name sound is good but should be a bit more louder.
Also it's too easy to die, since you're just one hit.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Not very deep, but definitely addicting.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Played it way more often than I originally wanted to. Thats a good thing I suppose :)

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Really enjoyed playing it, however mouse sensitivity was a little slow at times using certain weapons. Really nice use of theme :)

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Really nice game. Addictive and nice graphical feel. Could have used some background music, although the other sound effects were great.

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

At first it looks really simple, but it's really amazing! Spent a while playing, it gets harder after about 50 points. Loved the weapons design!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40am

pretty cool :D
-ENDESGA

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very fun and intense!

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Now this has got real potential. Beautifully paced, weapons feel great to use and the sound effects (especially the voice) are spot on. Only thing that lets it down is the mouse/keyboard controls - I just can't do mouse aiming properly with top down shooters.
If you can do a version with twin stick controls you've got a real winner on your hands here.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Cool game, reminds me a bit of GUNMASTER for Battlefield 3...
Changing weapons is a nice idea, only the beam seemed like a punishment instead of a weapon... :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Interesting that you thought that the beam was a punishment... for me it's the best weapon easily. You can sweep it across the screen (move slowly, it won't kill things if you just wave it around maniacally). I usually get 4-6 kills per shot. The gun that I feel needs the most work is the Shotgun, and maybe Mines (both need a shorter cooldown). Unfortunately the shockwave weapon is very inconsistent as well, and I'm not sure why.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Obey or Die !!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]